Barrington, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Barrington, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Royston|
|Parish registers: 1570|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BARRINGTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Royston, hundred of Wetherley, county of Cambridge, 6¾ miles SW by S from Cambridge.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Barrington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Barrington Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog BTs||1599-1864||1599-1864||1599-1864|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Copies of parish registers are also available through the Society of Genealogists and the Cambridge Archives.
Barrington parish registers, atFHL Parish registers, 1570-1890
Bishop's transcripts for Barrington, 1599-1864 at FHL British Film 1818360
Non-Conformist Churches =[edit | edit source]
Independent/Congregational at FHL Baptismal register for Barrington Independent Chapel, 1797-1837
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Barrington on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 08 January 201.