Bartestree, Herefordshire Genealogy
Guide to Bartestree, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Hereford|
|Parish registers: 1813; For more records see Dormington|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see Dormington|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BARTESTREE, a chapelry, in the parish of Dormington, hundred of Greytree, union and county of Hereford, 4½ miles East of Hereford. 
Bartestree is a village and civil parish in Herefordshire see 
Bartestree was formed as a chapelry in the Dormington, Herefordshire Ancient Parish however the Parish Church of St James dates from 1888. A map of the parish boundary of Lugwardine with Bartestree is available at A Church Near You.  The church building was declared redundant and converted to a private residential development, see 
The parish church of St James has been designated as a grade II listed building 
The Convent of Our Lady of Charity and Refuge was built in 1863 and closed in 1992 and was subsequently redeveloped as private residential dwellings. The Convent and adjacent disused Roman Catholic church have both been designated, the Convent has been designated as a grade II listed building 
The disused Roman Catholic Church of St James which was relocated to a site adjacent to the convent and built to the design of Edward Wlby Pugin has been designated as a grade II* listed building  and the English Heritage listing includes a history of the development of the convent for the daughter of the land owner Robert Biddulph Phillips.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
|Bartestree Online Parish Records|
|Parish Registers - FamilySearch Catalog|
|Find My Past-Herefordshire ($)|
|Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)|
|Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage|
|Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)|
|National Burial Index-FMP (Free)|
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition, FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that genenerally charge for subscriptions.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 158-161. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 June 2013.