Barton, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Barton, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Chesterton|
|Parish registers: 1688|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BARTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Chesterton, hundred of Wetherley, county of Cambridge, 3½ miles WSW from Cambridge. Baptist is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in Barton.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Barton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free|
|Barton Online Parish Records|
Church of England: Barton, St. Peter
- Parish registers for Barton, 1600-1851 are on FHL Fiche # 6360268 at the Family History Library or through a Family History Center.
- Bishop Transcripts for Barton, 1600-1851 are on FHL Film # 1818362. This microfilm has been digitised.
Non-Conformist[edit | edit source]
Baptist is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in Barton. These records are located at the Cambridgeshire Archives.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Barton on GENUKI