Barton, Westmorland Genealogy
Guide to Barton, Westmorland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Westmorland, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||West Ward|
|Registration District||West Ward|
|Parish registers: 1676|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1666|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Westmorland Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BARTON (St. Michael), a parish, in West ward and union, county of Westmorland, 4 miles (S. W. by S.) from Penrith; comprising the chapelries of Martindale and Patterdale-with-Hartsop. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Barton, Westmorland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)|
|BARTON PARISH (1666) Online Records|
Census Records[edit | edit source]
In December 1787 the Westmorland Court of Quarter Sessions commissioned a population survey of the county. Parish constables were ordered to send in returns listing the names and occupations of the members of every household in their constablewick. This census is found in Vital Statistics, The Westmorland "Census' of 1787. This book is available at the Family History Library, Salt Lake City, Utah. The library call number is British Ref. Area 942.88 X2v.
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.