Belgium Census and Population Registers - FamilySearch Historical Records

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Belgium

Access the Records
CID2026976
{{{CID2}}}
{{{CID3}}}
{{{CID4}}}
{{{CID5}}}
{{{CID6}}}
{{{CID7}}}
{{{CID8}}}
{{{CID9}}}
This article describes a collection of records scheduled to become available at FamilySearch.org.
Belgium
Flag of Belgium.jpg
Flag of the Kingdom of Belgium
LOC Belgium.jpg
LOC Belgium in Europe.jpg
Location of Belgium in Europe
Record Description
Record Type: Census and Population Registers
Collection years: 1472-1912
Languages: Dutch, French
FamilySearch Resources
Related Websites
Archive
Nationaal Archief


What is in This Collection?[edit | edit source]

This collection contains images of census records and population registers. Not every municipality is included. Most records approximately cover the years 1830-1910. Records are arranged either chronologically, alphabetically, by neighborhood or village. Some volumes are indexed, and some places contain separate index volumes.

Image Visibility[edit | edit source]

Whenever possible FamilySearch makes images and indexes available for all users. However, rights to view these data are limited by contract and subject to change. Because of this there may be limitations on where and how images and indexes are available or who can see them. Please be aware some collections consist only of partial information indexed from the records and do not contain any images.

For additional information about image restrictions see Restrictions for Viewing Images in FamilySearch Historical Record Collections.

Reading These Records[edit | edit source]

For help reading these Dutch records see the following guides:

To Browse This Collection[edit | edit source]

You can browse through images in this collection using the waypoints on the Collection Browse Page for Belgium Census and Population Registers, 1472-1912.

What Can These Records Tell Me?[edit | edit source]

The following information may be found in these records:

  • Name of head of household
  • Names of family members
  • Date of birth
  • Birthplace
  • Age
  • Gender
  • Occupation

Collection Content[edit | edit source]

Sample Images[edit | edit source]

Click on images for a larger view.

How Do I Search This Collection?[edit | edit source]

Before searching this collection, it is helpful to know:

  • Your ancestor’s full name
  • The approximate age at the time of the census, or their date of birth

Search the Index[edit | edit source]

You will be able to search this collection when it is published.

View the Images[edit | edit source]

You will be able to view the images in this collection when it is published.

How Do I Analyze the Results?[edit | edit source]

Compare each result from your search with what you know to determine if there is a match. This may require viewing multiple records or images. Keep track of your research in a research log.

What Do I Do Next?[edit | edit source]

I Found the Person I Was Looking For, What Now?[edit | edit source]

  • Use the age to find an approximate birth year to begin your search in church or civil records
  • Continue to search the records to identify children, siblings, parents, and other relatives who may have moved, been recruited or lived nearby. This can help you identify other generations of your family Repeat this process for each new generation you identify. Compile the entries for every person who has the same surname; this is especially helpful in rural areas or if the surname is unusual. This compiled list can help you identify possible relations that can be further verified by researching vital records in the country
  • When you have located your ancestor’s record, carefully evaluate each piece of information given. Save a copy of the image or transcribe the information. These pieces of information may give you new biographical details such as a title, an occupation, or land ownership. Add this new information to your records of each family. You should also look for leads to other records about your ancestors

I Can’t Find the Person I’m Looking For, What Now?[edit | edit source]

  • Switch to a different record collection; depending on the time-period, one or the other collection may be more helpful
  • While searching, it is helpful to know the ancestor’s given name and surname, some identifying information such as residence and age, and family relationships
  • Keep in mind that there may be more than one person in the records with the same name
  • Standard spelling of names typically did not exist during the periods our ancestors lived in. Try variations of your ancestor’s name while searching the index or browsing through images
  • Pay special attention to how the name should have been pronounced and try variations on the pronunciation

Research Helps[edit | edit source]

The following articles will help you in your research for your family in Belgium.

Citing This Collection[edit | edit source]

Citations help you keep track of places you have searched and sources you have found. Identifying your sources helps others find the records you used.

Collection Citation:
The citation for this collection can be found on the Collection Details Page in the section Citing this Collection.
Record Citation:
When looking at a record, the citation can be viewed by clicking the drop-down arrow next to Document Information.
Image Citation:
When looking at an image, the citation is found on the Information tab at the bottom left of the screen.