Belmont, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Belmont, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Belmont, Durham
Belmont St Mary Magdalene Durham.jpg
Belmont St Mary Magdalene Durham
Type Chapelry (England)
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Durham City
County Durham, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Durham
Registration District Durham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1858; For more records see Durham St Giles
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Easington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham County Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BELMONT, a chapelry in the parish and county of Durham; on the Durham and Sunderland railway, 2 miles ENE of Durham. It was constituted in 1852; it contains the Durham suburb of Gilesgate Moor or Gilligate, and the villages of Broomside and Carrville; and its Post Town is Durham. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Belmont Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Durham
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Durham
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Durham ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England Select Births, Marriages, Death, and Burials ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.


Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Durham Poor Law Union, Durham Genealogy

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Belmont Chapelry (see Durham St Giles) on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.