Berwickshire, Scotland Genealogy
|Berwickshire Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Berwickshire County ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
Berwickshire is a maritime county in the south-east of Scotland, bounded on the north by the German Ocean and the county of Haddington (Eastlothian), on the east and north-east by the German Ocean, on the south by the river Tweed, which separates it from the English county of Northumberland, and on the west and south-west by the counties of Edinburgh (Midlothian) and Roxburgh. It is about thirty-five miles in length and twenty-two miles in extreme breadth. It comprises about 446 1/2 square miles or 285,760 acres. The county derives its name from the ancient town of berwick, formerly the county town.
Berwickshire was anciently part of the kingdom of Northumbria until the year 1020 when it was ceded to Malcolm II, King of Scotland, by the Earl of Northumberland. From its situation on the borders, the county was the scene of frequent hostilities and an object of continual dispute between the Scots and the English. The town of Berwick was finally ceded to the English in 1482. Greenlaw eventually became the county town for Berwickshire.
The county comprises thirty-four parishes and three civil districts of Merse, Lammermoor, and Lauderdale. It includes the royal burgh of Lauder, the towns of Greenlaw, Dunse, Coldstream, and Eyemouth, and several villages. The district of Merse is level and extends for nearly twenty miles along the north bank of the Tweed and about ten miles in breadth. It is richly fertile and enriched with plantations. The district of Lammermoor, nearly of equal extent and parallel with the Merse, is a hilly tract chiefly adapted for pasture. The district of Lauderdale, to the west of the other two, is also diversified with hills and affords good pasture for sheep and a coarse breed of black cattle. It has fertile vales of arable land yielding abundant crops. The coast is bold and rocky, rising precipitously to a great height, and is almost inaccessible except at Eyemouth and Coldingham Bay.
ScotlandsPeople: An Important Online Source[edit | edit source]
ScotlandsPeople is one of the largest online sources of original genealogical information. If you are researching UK genealogy, your Scottish ancestry or building your Scottish family tree, they have more than 100 million records to look through.
The comprehensive choice of Scottish records includes:
For more detail on record availability, see Guides. For the content guide to what records are on the site, see Guides A-Z. More information on the site, its contents, and instructions for using it can be found in the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article. Indexes may be searched for free, and there is a pay per view fee to see the digitized record.
Census[edit | edit source]
Many census records have been indexed by surname. Some indexes cover one parish (and will be listed in the Wiki on the parish page) and some indexes are for the county as a whole. The Family History Library has county-wide census placename indexes for Berwickshire for 1881. Click here for other census indexes available at the library.
- ScotlandsPeople, index, images, free index, pay per view ($)
- Scotland Census, 1841, no images - How to Use this Collection. Also at MyHeritage, index, ($). Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1851, no images - How to Use this Collection. Also at MyHeritage, index, ($). Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1861, no images - How to Use this Collection. Also at MyHeritage, index, ($). Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1871, no images - How to Use this Collection. Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1881, no images - How to Use this Collection. Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1891, no images - How to Use this Collection. Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1901 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection.
- Scotland Census, 1901, index and images, ($). Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1911, index and images, ($).
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1658 - 1919 - Scotland Church Records and Kirk Session Records, 1658-1919 at FamilySearch — index
- 1736-1990 - Scotland Presbyterian & Protestant Church Records, 1736-1990 at FamilySearch — index
Civil Registration or Statutory Registers[edit | edit source]
For details on information found in statutory registers and other methods of searching them, see Scotland Statutory Registers - Vital Records.
Parishes[edit | edit source]
Some of the Berwick parish records are indexed in Berwick, Scotland, Extracted Parish Records.
- This database is a collection of historical parish registers from the county of Berwick in the country of Scotland. The records in this collection can range in date from the early 1500s to the mid- to late-1800s. The records include baptisms/christenings, burials, marriages, tombstone inscriptions, obituaries, tax lists, wills, and other miscellaneous types of records. Also included are some records from non-conformist churches. You will find interesting phonetic spelling. Some of the records may be in Latin or even a Welsh or Scottish dialect. Due to the nature of the records and because the records were originally compiled by a third party, it is difficult to absolutely verify the completeness and validity of the data.
Here is a list of the historic parishes of the county of Berwick with their parish numbers. Click on the parish name to see information about records. Click here for an outline map of the parishes of Berwickshire.
|Abbey St. Bathans||726||Hilton -- see Whitsome||757|
|Bunkle and Preston||728||Hutton||745|
|Coldstream (formerly Lennel)||733||Lennel -- see Coldstream||733|
|Eyemouth||739||Preston -- see Bunkle||728|
|Fogo||740||Simprim -- see Swinton||755|
|Greenlaw||743||Whitsome and Hilton||757|
Court Records[edit | edit source]
The county of Berwick was in the Sheriff's court of Duns (SC60). The Registers of Deeds for Sheriffs' courts contain much valuable information for family history research such as marriage contracts and deeds of 'disposal and settlement' (or assignment) of property, which both give names and relationships. The records are deposited at the National Archives of Scotland in Edinburgh and are not indexed.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Poorhouse Records[edit | edit source]
NOTE: Workhouses in Scotland were commonly known as poorhouses. For more information on Scottish poorhouses, go to the Scotland Poorhouses, Poor Law, Etc page.
Only a portion of the workhouse below was available for this county:
A description with drawings and photos of the workhouse today along with databases of those living there from the 1881 Census are provided on the link above located on the site entitled The Workhouse: The story of an institution... which is owned and operated by Peter Higginbotham.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records are those which deal with the settlement of the estate of a deceased person. In Scotland, until 1868, a person could only pass movable property such as household furniture, farm equipment, livestock, money and clothes through a document known as a 'testament.' Immovable property such as land was passed to the eldest son or heir through a document known as a 'Service of Heir,' which is not a record of probate. Read more about Scotland Probate Records.
Until 1823, the parishes of Berwickshire were under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissariot Court of Lauder (CC15). Since 1823, the county has been under the jurisdiction of the Sheriff's Court of Duns (SC60).
Probate records for 1513-1901 (including inventories of goods) are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the FamilySearch library catalog for the 'Place' of Berwick (then select the county) and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the 'Testaments registers.'
An index to probate records that covers some of Scotland 1861-1941 is available at www.ancestry.co.uk
Societies[edit | edit source]
Borders Family History Society
52 Overhaugh St
15 Victoria Terrace
Phone-0131 220 3677
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Berwickshire Resources and help pages on RootsChat Berwickshire Resources and help pages. (Free).
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel Lewis. Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, (London, England: S. Lewis and Co., 1846), 3 v.: 651, [FHL book 941 E5]. Digitized by FamilySearch International, FamilySearch.org, https://www.familysearch.org/search/catalog/216925 (accessed February 27, 2015).
- Samuel Lewis. "Berwick-upon-Tweed - Braidwood," in A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, (London, 1846), 124-151. British History Online, http://www.british-history.ac.uk/topographical-dict/scotland/pp124-151 (accessed May 23, 2020).