To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Bexley, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bexley, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bexley, Kent
St Mary the Virgin Bexley Kent.jpg
St Mary the Virgin Bexley Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ruxley
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dartford
Registration District Dartford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1565
Bishop's Transcripts: 1669; Separate records exist for Bexley Heath beginning 1842 and for Lamb Abbey beginning 1846
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dartford
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Parish History[edit | edit source]

Bexley is a parish, in the union of Dartford, partly in the hundred of Lessness, but chiefly in the hundred of Ruxley, lathe of Sutton-At-Hone, W division of Kent, 3 miles W from Dartford.[1]

Bexley is a a town in the London Borough of Bexley Bexley Wikipedia.

Bexley St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish in Kent Church Website which included within the parish boundary Lamorbey Bexleyheath and part of Welling. Lamorbey Park was developed see also Lamorbey Wikipedia

See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1797), pp. 162-183 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See Bexley North West Kent Family History Society and Bexley St Mary

Other parishes formed from the Ancient Parish include:

Lamorbey Holy Trinity Halfway Street see Lamorbey Holy Trinity and Kent Churches website

St John Park Hill Road St John Park Hill Road Kent Churches website

Bexleyheath The Broadway Bexleyheath Christ Church Kent Churches website

Other places of worship include:

Baptist: The Broadway, Bexleyheath. Established 1827, demolished 1956. Bexleyheath Trinity Baptist

Bethany Wesleyan Methodist Bexleyheath North St Methodist Church

Albany Park Baptist Church, Stansted Crescent, Bexley Church website

St John Fisher Roman Catholic Church, Thanet Road, Bexley

Strict Baptist Chapel, Bourne Road, Bexley

United Reformed Church, Hurst Road, Bexley

Our Lady of Angels

Congregational: Chapel Rd, Bexleyheath. Built 1853-4, demolished 1987.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Dartford registration District Sidcup Registration District Bexley Registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Bexley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Bexley Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1722-1835
1565-1837
1723-1848
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Images for Bexley are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1831

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Bexley 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Bexleyheath Cemetery burials from 1879 through 1897 are available online at FreeREG - free.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Bexley on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848), pp. 228-233. Date accessed: 1 July 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.