Bibb County, Georgia Genealogy

United States

Georgia

Bibb County

Guide to Bibb County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Georgia Online Genealogy Records

County Facts County seat: Macon Organized: December 9, 1822 Parent County(s): Jones, Monroe, Twiggs, Houston Neighboring Counties Crawford  • Houston  • Jones  • Monroe  • Peach  • Twiggs See County Maps Courthouse Location Map Adoption This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for William Wyatt Bibb. The County is located in the central area of the state.

County Courthouse

Bibb County Courthouse
601 Mulberry Street
Macon, GA 31201-2672
Phone: 912-749-6527
Bibb County Website

County Health Department has birth, death and burial records.
Probate Court has marriage and probate records.
County Clerk has divorce, court and land records from 1823.

Bibb County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth*	Marriage	Death*	Court	Land	Probate	Census
1919	1823	1919	1823	1823	1823	1820
*Statewide registration of births and death began in 1919. General compliance for births by 1928 and deaths by 1922.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

1822 Bibb county was created 9 December 1822 from Jones, Monroe, Twiggs and Houston Counties. County seat: Macon For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. See Georgia Counties: Their Changing Boundaries

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:

Cities
Macon (county seat)
Unincorporated communities
Arkwright Avondale Bellevue Dry Branch	East Macon Franklinton Lizella	Payne Sofkee Walden

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Bibb, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online	Findagrave.com GAGenWeb GAGenWeb Archives Tombstone Project Billion Graves Rose Hill Cemetery Directory Riverside Cemetery Directory
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)	Family History Library WorldCat
List of Cemeteries in the County	Findagrave.com Billion Graves Bibb County Cemeteries Georgia Cemetery Records FamilySearch Places
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Bibb County cemeteries.

• Interment.net Georgia cemetery records

Census Records

Historical populations
Census	Pop.	%±
1830	7,154	—
1840	9,802	37.0%
1850	12,699	29.6%
1860	16,291	28.3%
1870	21,255	30.5%
1880	27,147	27.7%
1890	42,370	56.1%
1900	50,473	19.1%
1910	56,646	12.2%
1920	71,304	25.9%
1930	77,042	8.0%
1940	83,783	8.7%
1950	114,079	36.2%
1960	141,249	23.8%
1970	143,418	1.5%
1980	150,256	4.8%
1990	149,967	−0.2%
2000	153,887	2.6%
2010	155,547	1.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes

• FamilySearch Places

Baptist
First Macon Baptist Church Membership Rolls 1830-1874 and 1839. [1] Georgia Pioneers ($)

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

• Macon

Episcopal
Christ Church Parish, Macon

• Hart, Oliver J. The History of Christ Church Parish, Macon, Georgia: March 5th 1825, March 5th, 1925. Macon, Ga.: Lyon, Harris & Brooks, Printers and Binders, 1925. Digital version at Ancestry ($)

St. Barnabas Mission Chapel, Macon

• 1861-1903 St. Barnabas Mission Chapel, Macon, Baptism Index 1861-1903. Batch C712161 at FamilySearch
• 1861-1903 St. Barnabas Mission Chapel, Macon, Marriage Index 1861-1903. Batch M712161 at FamilySearch
• 1861-1903 St. Barnabas Mission Chapel, Macon, Death Index 1861-1903. Batch B003552 at FamilySearch

St. Paul's Church, Macon

• 1870-1959 St. Paul's Church, Macon, Baptism Index 1870-1959. Batch C712171 at FamilySearch

Methodist
Park Memorial Methodist Church, Arkwright

• 1893-1958 Park Memorial Methodist Church, Arkwright, Baptism Index 1893-1958. Batch C712131 at FamilySearch
• 1891-1895 Park Memorial Methodist Church, Arkwright, Marriage Index 1891-1895. Batch M712131 at FamilySearch

Vineville Methodist Church, Macon

• 1891-1937 Vineville Methodist Church, Macon, Baptism Index 1891-1937. Batch C712181 at FamilySearch
• 1891-1895 Vineville Methodist Church, Macon, Marriage Index 1891-1895. Batch M712181 at FamilySearch

Methodist Episcopal
Wilma Methodist Episcopal Church

• 1856-1885 Wilma Methodist Episcopal Church Baptism Index 1856-1885. Batch C712091 at FamilySearch

Directories

• U.S. City Directories, 1822-1995 at Ancestry ($)— includes Macon 1897, 1899, 1904-1909, 1911-1912, 1914-1915, 1917-1918, 1920, 1922, 1924-1925, 1927, 1930, 1932, 1934-1935, 1952-1960

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

• 1865-1875 Bibb County Colored Marriage Books A and B Index 1865-1874. Batch M712118 at FamilySearch
• 1874-1882 Bibb County Colored Marriage Book C Index 1874-1882. Batch M712119 at FamilySearch
• 1882-1909 Bibb County Colored Marriage Books D and E Index 1882-1909. Batch M712121 at FamilySearch
• 1892-1899 Bibb County Colored Marriage Books F and G Index 1892-1899. Batch M712122 at FamilySearch
• 1899-1906 Bibb County Colored Marriage Books H and I Index 1899-1906. Batch M712123 at FamilySearch

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bibb County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

• Butler, John C. Historical Record of Macon and Central Georgia, Containing Many Interesting and Valuable Reminiscences Connected with the Whole State, Including Numerous Incidents and Facts Never Before Published and of Great Historic Value. Macon, GA, USA: J. W. Burke, 1879. Digital version at Ancestry ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

• FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
• Maps of Georgia (1758-1932)

Military Records

• Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project

Civil War

Online Records

• 1861-1865 Georgia Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
• 1861-1865 Georgia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
• 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
• 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry— index (free)
• 1867-1868 Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
• 1879-1920 Georgia, Confederate Pension Rolls, 1879-1920 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection

Regiments. Service men in Bibb County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bibb County:

- 1st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A

- 5th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company M

- 8th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C

- 10th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D

- 12th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H

- 20th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A

- 27th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B

- 28th Battalion, Georgia Siege Artillery (Confederate) , Company D and G

- 28th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B

- 30th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D

- 45th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A

- 54th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A

- 59th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company K

- 61st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I

- 64th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B, G, and H

- 66th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies A and D

World War I

• 1920-1929 Georgia, World War I, Statement of Service Cards, 1920-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection

Other Records

Voting Records

• 1867-1868 Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

• 1742-1990 Georgia Probate Records, 1742-1990 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
• 1742-1992 Georgia Wills and Probate Records 1742-1992 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
• 1823-1844 Index to Bibb County, Georgia Annual Returns at Georgia Pioneers ($)
• 1823-1855 Abstracts of Bibb County, Georgia 1823-1855 at Georgia Pioneers ($)
• 1823-1855 Index to Bibb County, Georgia Wills and Estates at Georgia Pioneers ($)
• 1823-1929 Bibb County Georgia list of will book testators SAMPUBCO - Browsable index of testators of wills.
• 1843-1851 Index to Bibb County, Georgia Annual Returns at Georgia Pioneers ($)
• 1851-1854 Index to Bibb County, Georgia Annual Returns at Georgia Pioneers ($)
• 1851-1864 Abstracts of Bibb County, Georgia 1851-1864 at Georgia Pioneers ($)
• 1851-1871 Index to Bibb County, Georgia Wills and Estates at Georgia Pioneers ($)
• 1870, 1891, 1914 Index to Bibb County, Georgia Wills and Estates at Georgia Pioneers ($)
• 1891-1907 Index to Bibb County, Georgia Wills and Estates at Georgia Pioneers ($)
• Images of Wills & Estates 1870-1891; Images of Annual Returns, Estates, Wills, Book A 1822-37; Book B 1837-44; Book C 1843-51; Book D 1851-54; Book E 1853-57 Georgia Pioneers ($)
• Online Images of Wills 1823-1840; 1851-1865. Georgia Pioneers ($)

Social Security Records

• 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information. — How to Use this Collection
• 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

• 1815 Tax Digests (images of all districts). Georgia Pioneers ($)

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth

• 1870-1960 Georgia, County Delayed Birth and Death Records, 1870-1960 at FamilySearch — index, and some images — How to Use this Collection

Macon birth records since 1891 are available from:

Bibb County Health Department
171 Emery Highway
Macon, GA 31217
Website

Marriage

• 1560-1993 Georgia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index ($)
• 1699-1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry — index ($)
• 1754-1960 Georgia Church Marriages, 1754-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
• 1785-1950 Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
• 1787-1962 Georgia, Church Marriages, 1787-1962 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
• 1808-1967 Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch — index
• 1827-1839 Bibb County Marriage Book A Index 1827-1839. Batch M712111 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
• 1828-1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
• 1839-1858 Bibb County Marriage Book B Index 1839-1858. Batch M712112 at FamilySearch
• 1858-1865 Bibb County Marriage Book C Index 1858-1865. Batch M712113 at FamilySearch
• 1865-1874 Bibb County Marriage Books D and E Index 1865-1874. Batch M712114 at FamilySearch
• 1874-1887 Bibb County Marriage Book F Index 1874-1887. Batch M712115 at FamilySearch
• 1885-1891 Bibb County Marriage Book G Index 1885-1891. Batch M712116 at FamilySearch
• 1891-1909 Bibb County Court of Ordinary Marriage Index 1891-1909. Batch M712124 at FamilySearch
• 1892-1895 Bibb County Marriage Book H Index 1892-1895. Batch M712117 at FamilySearch
• 1831 - 1839 Book A, (from newspapers). Georgia Pioneers ($)
• 1885 - 1886 Book A, (from newspapers). Georgia Pioneers ($)

Death

• 1870-1960 Georgia, County Delayed Birth and Death Records, 1870-1960 at FamilySearch — index, and some images — How to Use this Collection
• 1914-1927 Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
• 1919-1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry — index ($)
• 1919-1930 Georgia Death Certificates at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - index and images
• 1928-1930 Georgia Non-Indexed Death Certificates at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
• 1928-1942 Georgia Deaths, 1928-1942 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
• 1933-1998 Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection

Research Facilities

Archives

Listed below are archives in Bibb County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Georgia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

• Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator

Local Centers and Libraries

• Macon Georgia Family History Center
  

Libraries

Listed below are libraries in Bibb County. For state-wide library facilities, see Georgia Archives and Libraries.

Societies

Listed below are societies in Bibb County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Georgia Societies.

Websites

• Bibb County, GA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
• Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
• USGenWeb Bibb County, Georgia project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
• GAGenWeb Archives
• Bibb County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
• FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.