Bilborough with Strelley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Bilborough with Strelley, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Bilborough with Strelley, Nottinghamshire
Strelley All Saints Nottinghamshire.jpg
Strelley All Saints Nottinghamshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish (England)
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Basford
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1569; Separate registers exist for Strelley beginning 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1626; Separate records exist for Strelley beginning 1626
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BILBOROUGH (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Basford, S. division of the wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 4 miles (W. N. W.) from Nottingham. The hamlet of Broxtow, in the parish, was once a place of considerable importance. [1]

Additional information:

Bilborough with Strelley Ecclesiastical parish was formed in 1838 from Bilborough Ancient parish and Strelley Ancient parish and included Broxtow (sometimes Broxtowe).

The church of All Saints Main Street Strelley dates from the 13th century and was restored in 1850 and 1895 and has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage. British listed building Th church was much loved by Nikolaus Pevsner in his history of Nottinghamshire buildings and described as the most important church building to the west of Nottingham.

Strelley Wikipedia

Bilborough Wikipedia

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records[edit | edit source]

Bilborough with Strelley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
BASFORD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined
Undefined

PALL
1568-1812

Basford St Leodigarius

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1561-1920 Marriages 1568-1963 Burials 1561-1925
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Basford St Aidan Baptisms 1905-1946 Marriages 1910-1946

Bestwood Park Emmanuel Baptisms 1870-1938 Marriages 1873-1980 Burials 1870-1900

Bestwood Park St Mark Baptisms 1938-1967 Marriages 1946-1954

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Basford

Balham, Brenda:  General Baptist Benevolent Society, High St. Old Basford.  Gifts given and received March 1867-December 1876. A list of names of the folk receiving the cash gifts, by person who is named and the amount given. Surname Index at the back of the article.  This list came from the Nottinghamshire Archives Ref BP 12/12, and transcribed by Brenda Balham.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 131, pages 18-85, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Basford St. Leodegarius,  an alphabetical listing of memorial inscriptions giving surname, given names, date of death, and age.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 64, page 3, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n, also Basford, St. Leodegarius Relief Cemetery, Alpine Street same as above, in vol. 57, page 15, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Bestwood Park, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Bestwood Park, Nottinghamshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined
Undefined

Mapperley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Mapperley Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined
Undefined

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation[edit | edit source]

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Inhabitants of Bilborough at 31 January 1815. Gives surname, and forename of head of household and number of males, females.  Original at Nottinghamshire Archives DD.E 14/75/1,2  transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 105, page 34, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Bilborough in GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.