To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Billingshurst, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Billingshurst, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Billingshurst, Sussex
Billingshurst St+Mary Sussex.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Easwrith
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Petworth
Registration District Petworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Storrington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BILLINGSHURST (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Petworth, hundred of West Easwrith, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 7½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Horsham. There are places of worship for Independents and Unitarians.[1]

Billingshurst St Mary is an Ancient parish in West Sussex.

Church history Billingshurst St Mary

The Parish Church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

See also

Billingshurst Wikipedia Billingshurst Unitarian Chapel

Gospel Hall and Gingers Chapel List of demolished worship places in West Sussex

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For the civil registration history see Horsham registration district  See alsoPetworth Registration District
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records[edit | edit source]

Billingshurst parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Sussex, Parish Registers, 1538-1910 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Sussex Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Sussex Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Billingshurst Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1910
1538-1910
1538-1910
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1800s
1538-1800s
1538-1800s
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP



1821-1834
TGEN 1538-1920s
1538-1920s
1538-1920s
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Sussex Record Office and The Keep (which houses the collections of the East Sussex Record Office).

Census records[edit | edit source]

{{British Census|474671}
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Petworth Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 241-244. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Sussex) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch