Birmingham, Warwickshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Birmingham)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Birmingham history, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. For a thorough study of Birmingham's records resources, see the ancient parish page of Birmingham St Martin Bull Ring.

Also see A Comprehensive List of Birmingham Parishes and Chapels page.

Birmingham skyline.jpg

History[edit | edit source]

Coat of arms of Birmingham
Flag of Birmingham
Birmingham location

Birmingham's early history is that of a remote and marginal area. The main centers of population, power and wealth in the pre-industrial English Midlands lay in the fertile and accessible river valleys of the Trent, the Severn and the Avon rivers. The area of modern Birmingham lay in between, on the upland Birmingham Plateau and within the densely wooded and sparsely populated Forest of Arden.

In the Middle ages, Birmingham was only a medium sized market town, with Warwick, Stratford-upon-Avon, and Worcester being much larger and more important towns.

Birmingham grew to international prominence in the 18th century at the heart of the Midlands Enlightenment and subsequent Industrial Revolution, which saw the town at the forefront of worldwide advances in science, technology and economic development, producing a series of innovations that laid many of the foundations of modern industrial society. By 1791 it was being hailed as "the first manufacturing town in the world".

This growth was triggered by the development of England's canal system, a modern miracle of engineering and tunneling. Altogether more than 2,500 miles of waterways were built. At that time, the longest man made tunnel in the world for water transportation was the 2,760 yard long Wast Hills tunnel on the Worcester and Birmingham canal.

Canal building required a huge input of manual labor into the area, and, as the canals were completed, this labor naturally gravitated to the new industrial establishments that were being built up along the canal waterways.

The canals had fallen into disuse and disrepair by the middle of the twentieth century, but, due to the vision and foresight of a few local groups, they have largely been rebuilt and serve today as a haven for canal boat residents and holiday-makers.

Today, it is the most populous British city outside London with 1,092,330 residents (2013 est.), and its population increase of 88,400 residents between the 2001 and 2011 censuses was greater than that of any other British local authority.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries (Civil)[edit | edit source]

Tardebigge locks.gif

The following website contains information for civil cemeteries within the city of Birmingham:

Other listed cemeteries in the area follow:

Witton Cemetery

Address: Moor Ln
Birmingham B6 7AE
United Kingdom
Phone:+44 121 303 4363

Yardley Cemetery

Address: Yardley Rd
Birmingham B25 8NA
United Kingdom
Phone:+44 121 675 8825

Handsworth Cemetery

Address: Oxhill Rd
Birmingham B21 8JT
United Kingdom
Phone:+44 121 554 0096

Key Hill Cemetery, originally called Birmingham General Cemetery

Address: 248 Icknield Street
Hockley
Birmingham B18 6PP
England

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Parishes[edit | edit source]

A comprehensive list of Birmingham parishes and Chapels can be found at the following FamilySearch web site:

Nonconformists[edit | edit source]

The following website lists Birmingham's Non-conformist chapels:

Additionally the following major religions are to be found within the city:

  • Baptist
  • Calvinist
  • Catholic (Roman)
  • Catholic (Greek Orthodox)
  • Catholic (Russian Orthodox)
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
  • Jehovah Witnesses
  • Lutheran
  • Salvation Army
  • Society of Friends

And the following Non-Christian religions are also present:

  • Buddhist
  • Confucius
  • Hindu
  • Muslim
  • Sikh

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Civil registration is the recording of births, marriages and deaths in England and began in 1837. Civil registration records were recorded at the local registration office and the National registration offices. If you cannot find the civil registration in one index, search the other index as they are different indexes.

Birmingham Register Office

Holliday Street
Birmingham B1 1TJ
Telephone: 0121 675 1000
Email: register.office@birmingham.gov.uk

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Map of BathGreat Britain, Atlas and Index of Parish Registers on Ancestry.com

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Newspapers for Birmingham:

Occupations[edit | edit source]

Birmingham is probably the largest locale in the UK for manufacturing activities. Historically this was mainly in the core manufacturing areas of steel, rail, and industrial transportation. However this sector fell into deep decline since the middle of the twentieth century, and is still in a declining mode.

Today Birmingham's economy is dominated by the service sector. In fact, Birmingham is the largest center for such activities within the UK. The city is a major international commercial center, ranked as a beta− world city by the Globalization and World Cities Research Network.

Birmingham is the also the largest center in Great Britain for employment in public administration, education and health. It is the second largest center for financial and other business services. Birmingham is the home for 5 major Universities, plus has campuses for further secondary levels of education, making it second only to London for employment in the educational field.

While its historic manufacturing industries have shown a deep decline, it is still the center for such companies as Jaguar - Land Rover, Cadbury's, and still produces about 40% of the UK based jewelry industry, a trade first recorded in Birmingham in about 1300.

In addition, with a number of major facilities such as the National Exhibition Center and International Convention Center, Birmingham attracts more than 40% of the UK's total conference and exhibition trade.[2]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Birmingham Branch of the Birmingham and Midlands Society

The Birmingham and Midland Institute
Margaret Street
Birmingham B3 3BS
Website
  • Meetings held the first Wednesday of the month at 7:30 pm.

Birmingham Library Family History Society

Website

Archives[edit | edit source]

Library of Birmingham / Archives

Centenary Square
Broad Street
Birmingham B1 2ND
Tel: 0121 242 4242
Website

University of Birmingham Archives

Edgbaston
Birmingham B15 2TT
Tel: +44 (0)121 414 3344
Website

Birmingham Archives

Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Birmingham," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Birmingham, accessed 11-16 October, 2016. Birmingham City Council, "Birmingham" website, https://www.birmingham.gov.uk/, accessed 12 - 15 October 2016
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Birmingham," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Birmingham, accessed 11-16 October, 2016. Birmingham City Council, "Birmingham" website, https://www.birmingham.gov.uk/, accessed 12 - 15 October 2016