Birmingham St Peter, Warwickshire Genealogy
|Birmingham St Peter, Warwickshire|
|County||Warwickshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Birmingham|
|Parish registers: 1827|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Warwickshire County Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Birmingham St Peter is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Warwickshire, created in 1847 from Birmingham St Philip, Warwickshire Genealogy Ecclesiastical Parish
BIRMINGHAM, a celebrated manufacturing town and a borough, locally in the Birmingham division of the hundred of Hemlingford, N. division of the county of Warwick. The town was formerly governed by a high and a deputy constable, but has been incorporated by charter under the 5th and 6th of William IV., cap. 76. The borough comprises the parishes of Birmingham and Edgbaston, and the hamlets of Deritend with Bordesley, and Duddeston cum Nechels; and is divided into thirteen wards, viz., Lady-wood, containing 8787 inhabitants; All Saints, 13,719; Hampton, 11,037; St. George's, 19,648; St. Mary's, 14,685; St. Paul's, 8973; Market-hall, 13,014; St. Peter's, 16,773; St. Martin's, 13,325; St. Thomas's, 18,254; Edgbaston, 6609, Deritend and Bordesley, 18,019; and Duddeston cum Nechels, 20,079. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists, Swedenborgians, and Unitarians; a Scottish church, and two Roman Catholic chapels.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Birmingham St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS PRs = England, Warwickshire, Parish Registers, 1842-1898 (FamilySearch) - free (click magnifying glass to view online data for registers of baptisms/marriages)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FMP = Warwickshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|FMP Banns = Warwickshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|ANC 1 = Warwickshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)|
|ANC 2 = Warwickshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)|
|MyH = England, Warwickshire Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (MyHeritage) - ($)|
|TGEN = Warwickshire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free|
|FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free|
|FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free - None (at F.S.)|
|Birmingham St Peter (1842) Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||See above||See above||No burial yard|
|FS Catalog BTs||None||None||None||None||None||None|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 20 November 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Warwickshire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.