Bjarkøy Parish, Troms, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bjarkøy, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Bjarkøy Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Nordlandene
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1789: Nordlandene, 1789-1866: Finmmarken, 1866-1919: Tromsø
Fylke 1919-Present Troms
Region add here
Prestegjeld Bjarkøy
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Trondenes, Berg, Torksen
Fogderi Senja og Tromsø
Sorenskriveri Trondenes
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Bjarkøy clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Bjarkøy (Sand) and Sandsøy. They were annexed to Trondenes clerical district from 1813 until 1875. Records begin in 1758.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegain headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

1801 census see Mefjord

1865 census see Berg


  • Vicar's Census 1664-1666, no. 36: Lofoten and Vesterålen deanery, Senja deanery and Troms deanery Digital nArchives
  • Bailiff's Census 1664-1666, no. 20: Modern Nordland county, modern Troms county and modern Finnmark county Digital Archives
  • Ekstraskattemanntallet 1763 Senja fogderi. The 1763 tax census for Senja fogderi includes the parishes of Senja, Astafjord, Trondenes, Kvæfjord, Bjarkøy, Lenvik, Hillesøy, Torsken, Tranøy, Berg and Mefjord and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
  • Folketælling for kongeriget Norge, 1 Jan 1891. The 1891 census for Bjarkøy (Sand) clerical district includes the parishes of Bjarkøy and Sandsøy and is available on microfiche at the Family History Library. This census is also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Folketælling for Norge, 3 Dec 1900. The 1900 census for Bjarkøy clerical district includes the parishes of Bjarkøy and Sandsøy and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. There is also an alphabetical index by given name, surname, birthplace and by farm name available on microfiche at the Family History Library.. This census is also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1706-1877 Senja judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

  • Bjarkøy bygdebok by Jens L. Jenssen. A history of Bjarkøy in Troms county along with the genealogies of the people living there. Text in Norwegian.

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

22 Akkarnes, 30 Altevik,

11 Baarnøen, 2 Buvik,

23 Dypingen,

25 Fenes nedre, 9 Flatøen,

10 Helløen, 24 Horsevik,

31 Kolsland, 31 Kolslandshaugen, 8 Krøttøen,

20 Leirvaag nordre, 1 Lemmingvær, 2 Lonkan, 12 Lyngøen,

7 Meløen,

15 Nergaard, 28 Nordsand,

5 Olfinvik,

4 Senjehesten, 5 Sjursvik, 21 Skarstein, 27 Skjellesvik, 4 Skrolsvik, 32 Slagstad, 6 Steine, 13 Sundsvold, 29 Sørsand,

3 Tømmervik,

18 Vestnes, 14 Viken,

16 Østnes, 17 Øvergaard

Bjarkøy Bygdebok Volume II

Akkarnes, Altevik, Bornøy, Breivik, Buvik, Dypingen, Fenes, Helløy, Horsevik, Kolsland, Krøttøy, Lemmingvær, Lyngøy, Meløy, Nergård, Nergårdshamn, Nordleirvåg, Nordsand, Senjehesten, Sjursvik, Skarstein, Skjellesvik, Slagstad, Steine, Sundsvold, Sørleirvåg, Sørsand, Tømmervik, Østnes, Øvergård, Vestnes

Bjarkøy Bygdebok Volume I

Akkarnes, Altevik, Bjørnøy, Bornøy, Bredvik, Buvigen, Dypingen, Flatøy, Heløy, Horsevik, Kolsland, Krøtøy, Lemmingvær, Lervang, Lyngøy,  Mellemsand, Meløyvær, Nedre Fenes, Nergård, Nordleirvåg, Nordsand, Siversvik, Sjursvik, Skarstein, Skjellesvik, Slagstad, Steinavær, Stene, Sundsvold, Sørleirvåg, Sørsand, Tømmervik, Vestnes, Viken, Østnes, Øvergård, Øvre Fenes

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Jacobsen, Judy: Norwegian connections: from Arctic Fjord to American Prairie. 

FHL 929.273 J157

Historical Society[edit | edit source]

Bjarkøy Kommune Historielag

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

-Jenssen, Jens L.: Bjarkøy Bygdebok Bind II. Trondheim 1948

-Jenssen, Jens L.: Bjarkøy Bygdebok Bind I. Trondheim 1947