Bloxwich, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Bloxwich, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Staffordshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Walsall|
|Parish registers: 1733|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1733|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BLOXWICH, a chapelry district, in the parish and union of Walsall, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 2 miles(N. N. W.) from Walsall, on the road to Stafford. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists; and, at Harden, a Roman Catholic chapel.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Bloxwich All Saints formed 1810 from Walsall St Matthew, Staffordshire Genealogy of which it was formerly a chapelry of that parish
Bloxwich All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|BLOXWICH ALL SAINTS (1670) Online Records|
Subsequent formations from this parish include:
- Bloxwich St James (Old Lane) formed 1904 registers not deposited
- Bloxwich St Thomas (Mossley) formed 1959 register not deposited
- Bloxwich The Holy Ascension formed as district church 1968 registers not deposited
Blakenall Health Christ Churchoriginated as a mission of Bloxwich Church at the Blakenall Heath National School. A site in Bloxwich Road, Leamore, was originally chosen to build a church in 1865 but the foundations were moved to a site in Blakenall Heath given by Lord Bradford. The Church was opened in 1870. It was consecrated in 1872 and a year later the parish was assigned out of Bloxwich.
Blakenall Health Christ Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BLAKENALL HEATH CHRIST CHURCH (1871) Online Records|
Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Bloxwich St Thomas Roman Catholic registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BLOXWICH ST THOMAS ROMAN CATHOLIC (1670) Online Records|
Bloxwich Pinfold Primitive Methodist Chapel parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BLOXWICH PINFOLD PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (1861) Online Records|
Bloxwich United Methodist Free Church (New St) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BLOXWICH UNITED METHODIST FREE CHURCH (1902) Online Records|
Bloxwich Wesleyan Methodist Chapel (High St) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BLOXWICH WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (1827) Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1532/3 - A List of Families in Bloxwich, Staffordshire Genealogy 1532/3 FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 23 October 2013.
- 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
- 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 Jan 2015.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
- Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8