Bothamsall, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Bothamsall, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Bothamsall St Peter & St Paul Nottinghamshire
|Type||Ecclesiastical Parish (England)|
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||East Retford|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1542|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1627|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BOTHAMSALL (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of East Retford, Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 4½ miles (W. N. W.) from Tuxford. There is a tumulus, called Castle Hill, a little westward from the village of Bothamsall. 
Bothamsall Our Lady and St Peter was formed as an Ecclesiastical Parish in 1841 from Elkesley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Ancient Parish.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched this parish Bothamsall
The parish church of Our Lady and St Peter has been designated a grade II listed bulding British listed building
See also: Bothamsall Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Church records[edit | edit source]
Bothamsall, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Bothamsall, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Bothamsall Our Lady and St Peter
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1541-1901 Marriages 1538-1900 Burials 1538-1901 Bishop's Transcripts 1627-1844
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bothamsall
Bothamsall - the Parish Cemetery. An alphabetical listing of transcription of Memorial Inscription dating from 1912, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 70, page 41, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..