Brønshøj Parish, København, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Brønshøj, København, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

Brønshøj is part of the municipality of Copenhagen and together with Husum, forms the administrative city district of Brønshøj-Husum.

Brønshøj lies on rising ground west of Copenhagens center and is bordered by the large wetland area of Utterslev Mose and Tingbjerg to the north.

During the late part of the 19th century and early part of the 20th century the rural village developed into a suburb of the growing metropolis of Copenhagen and in 1901, Brønshøj, together with several of the neighboring villages, was incorporated into the municipality of Copenhagen. 

[1]

According to a royal decree dated 7 December 1874 part of Utterslev Mark was split from Brønshøj parish and added to Sankt Stefans parish.

Brønshøj Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Roskilde (Catholic) (Pre-1022-1537), Sjælland (1537-1922), København (1922-Present)
Pastorat (chapelry) Brønshøj (Early-1671), Brønshøj-Rødovre (1671-1703), Brønshøj-Rødovre-Frederiksberg (1703-1736), Brønshøj (Current)
Len -1662 Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 København
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 København
Herred (district) Sokkelund
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 4
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 6
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 1 / 27
Gods (estate) Add here


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Bellehøj, Bogholdergaard, Brønshøj, Brønshøjholm,

Emdrup,

Fordresgaard, Frederiksgaard,

Husum,

Lundehus Kro,

Præstegaarden,

Søborghus Kro,

Tingbjerg,

Utterslev, Utterslevmark,

Vanløse, Vanløsehøj

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records[edit | edit source]

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Genealogical Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Denmark Feast Day Calendars will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Personal Names.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting:
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources[edit | edit source]



Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Denmark, København Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Denmark, København" and then select your parish.


References[edit | edit source]

- Krabsen Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/, Mar. 2012.
 


- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4d ed. Vol. 2, Frederiksborg, København, og Holbæk Amt. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1920.