Brabourne, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Brabourne, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Bircholt Franchise and Barony|
|County||Kent, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||East Ashford|
|Registration District||East Ashford|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1561|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent History and Library Centre|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BRABOURNE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of East Ashford, franchise and barony of Bircholt, lathe of Shepway, E division of Kent, 7 miles E by S from Ashford. There is a chapel for Calvinistic Baptists. 
Brabourne is a village and civil parish in the Ashford district of Kent, see Brabourne Wikipedia and grew as a settlement in East Brabourne around the parish church.
Brabourne Lees is a village within the civil parish of Brabourne, see Brabourne Lees Wikipedia
Brabourne St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; it is part of the Smeeth (St. Mary) with Monks Horton and Stowting and Brabourne benefice benefice website See A20 churches website
The Norman church dates from 1144 and is one of the oldest church buildings still in use for worship in England.
The church tower was restored in 1923-1924.
Brabourne Lees nearby in the parish has a Zion Strict Baptist Chapel.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Brabourne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free|
|MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free|
|Brabourne Online Parish Records|
|FMP||1558-1893||1564-1837; 1754-1846 (Banns)||1558-1992|
|FS PRs||1846-1900 (banns)|
Land Tax[edit | edit source]
Images for Brabourne and Brook available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1831
These images are derived from 1987 microfilm at Kent Archives, Maidstone, England.
Brook and Brabourne are in the hundred of Cocklescombe.
Kent Archives Office reference: Q/RPL/55
The images refer to the East Brabourne part of the parish.
Edward Hasted describes the villages "That part of it which is within the borough of Cocklescombe, is in the hundred, and within the liberty of the royal manor of Wye."
From: The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 14-27 at British History Online
Images for Brabourne and Hastingleigh 1780-1831 are derived from 1987 microfilm at Kent Archives Office reference DRB/RT43-44.
Land tax assessments for Brabourne and Hastingleigh, Kent Genealogy, 1780-1831 Family History Library BRITISH Film 1469808 Items 1-2
The images refer to the West Brabourne part of the parish; Edward Hasted refers to "Combe, Bedlestone, the hamlet of West Braborne-street and Hampton"
The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 14-27 at British History Online
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
- Family History Center Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 323-326. Date accessed: 8 July 2013.
- 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
- 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
- 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
- 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
- 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
- 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
- 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.