Bramber with Botolphs, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Bramber with Botolphs, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Bramber with Botolphs, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Steyning|
|Parish registers: 1601; Separate registers exist for Botolphs beginning 1601|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1591; Separate records exist for Botolphs beginning 1583|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BRAMBER (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union and hundred of Steyning, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 1 mile (E. S. E.) from Steyning, and 50 miles (S. by W.) from London.
Bramber St Nicholas is an Ancient parish in the Horsham district of West Sussex and includes Botolphs within its boundaries. The church at Upper Beeding, Sussex is also within the united benefice (See boundary map).
A history of the church is available Bramber St Nicholas
The Parish Church of St Nicholas in the Street Bramber has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
The Church of St Botolph in Annington Road Bramber has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
A history of St Botolphs church St Botolph, Botolphs
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning Registration District until the 1935 reorganization of registration services
Certificates can be ordered from
Centralized Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Bramber parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|TGEN = The Genealogist - (£)|
|Bramber Parish Online Records|
Botolphs parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|TGEN = The Genealogist - (£)|
|Botolphs Parish Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bramber with Botolphs
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.