Brampton Ash, Northamptonshire Genealogy
Guide to Brampton Ash, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Brampton Ash, Northamptonshire|
|County||Northamptonshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Market Harborough|
|Registration District||Market Harborough|
|Parish registers: 1580|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1701|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Northamptonshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BRAMPTON or Brampton Ash (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Market-Harborough, hundred of Corby, N. division of the county of Northampton, 4 miles (E. by. N.) from Harborough, on the road to Rockingham.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Brampton Ash, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - (£)|
|Brampton Ash, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Non-Conformist Records[edit | edit source]
- 1840-1894 England, Northamptonshire, Non-conformist Records, 1840-1894 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Walton, Kenneth John Vialls. The Waltons of Northamptonshire. History of John Walker Walton, and Kitty Vialls married 6 January 1824.Many of the descendants emigrated to USA, India, Australia, and Canada. Surnames in article, Edwards, Robert, Eleanor, Baker, Nash and Dimmock, article dated 1707-1900, and is found in Footsteps, Northamptonshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 5,no.3.page 63-66, Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo v.5no.3.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.