Brenchley, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Brenchley, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Brenchley All Saints Kent
|Hundred||Brenchley and Horsemonden|
|County||Kent, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Tonbridge|
|Parish registers: 1560|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1715|
|Diocese||Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury|
|Probate Court||Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent History and Library Centre|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BRENCHLEY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Tonbridge, hundred of Brenchley and Horsmonden, lathe of Aylesford, W division of Kent, 4¼ miles N from Lamberhurst. There is a place of worship for Particular Baptists.
Brenchley is a village and civil parish in the Tunbridge Wells borough and district of Kent Brenchley Wikipedia The parish includes neighbouring village of Matfield.
Brenchley All Saints is an Ancient Parish; a map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you.
The parish church of All Saints Horsmonden Road Brenchley has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
From this parish was formed:
Paddock Wood St Andrew Queen Street This parish was formed from part of Brenchley parish also Yalding, Kent Genealogy and Nettlestead, Kent Genealogy parishes. See also Kent Churches website for a history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Brenchley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Brenchley Online Parish Records|
|FS PRs||1560-1875||1560-1876; 1754-1812 (banns)||1560-1876|
Matfield registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Matfield Online Records|
Land Tax[edit | edit source]
Images for Brenchley, Horsmonden, Kent Genealogy Pembury, Kent Genealogy and Yalding, Kent Genealogy available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1832
Images for Borough of Yalding are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1831 The borough of Yalding comprised Yalding, Kent Genealogy Horsmonden, Kent Genealogy Brenchley and Hunton, Kent Genealogy within the Land Tax bundle at the Centre for Kentish Studies Maidstone.
See also Edward Hasted, 'The hundred of Brenchley and Horsmonden: Introduction', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 280 at British History Online
Census records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
- Family History Center Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 353-357. Date accessed: 8 July 2013.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
- 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
- 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.