Brierley Hill, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Brierley Hill, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Brierley Hill, Staffordshire|
|County||Staffordshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Stourbridge|
|Parish registers: 1766|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1766|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BRIERLEY-HILL, a district chapelry, in the parish of King's Swinford, union of Stourbridge, N. division of the hundred of Seisdon, S. division of the county of Stafford,2¼ miles (N. N. E.) from Stourbridge.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
|For earlier registers see Kingswinford Holy Trinity Ancient Parish.|
Brierley Hill St Michael
Brierley Hill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|BRIERLEY HILL ST MICHAEL PARISH (1606) Online Records|
Dudley Archives has deposited Parish registers Bap 1756-1954 Marr 1837-1952 Bur 1766-1963
Bap 1766-1939 Marr 1837-1933 Bur 1766-1935 (microfilm)
Delph Mission church was within this parish
Dudley Archives has deposited parish registers Bap 1886-1939 and these years are also on microfilm.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Brierley Hill Particular Baptists registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BRIERLEY HILLS PARTICULAR BAPTISTS Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Reference[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 369-375. Date accessed: 16 October 2012.
- 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 September 2014.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.