To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Brighton All Souls, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Brighton All Souls, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brighton All Souls, Sussex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brighton
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Brighton
Registration District Brighton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BRIGHTON (St. Nicholas), a sea-port, borough, market-town, and parish, in the hundred of Whalesbone, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 30 miles (E.) from Chichester, and 52 (S.) from London; There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, the Society of Friends, the Connexion of the Countess of Huntingdon, Huntingtonians, Scottish Seceders, Wesleyans, and others; also Bethel chapel, belonging to the Mariners' Friend Society; a Roman Catholic chapel, and a synagogue. The church ofAll Souls, Upper Edward-street, erected in 1833, contains 1100 sittings, nearly all free: the living is a perpetual curacy [1]


Brighton All Souls was an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Sussex, created in 1834 from Brighton St Nicholas, Sussex. All Souls Church was a simple stuccoed building whose main feature was a low tower with a clock face which was a later addition. The interior had galleries on three sides with box pews an a central three-decker pulpit.

The church was re-modeled in 1879 by Edmund Scott and Hyde. There were stained glass windows by Kempe, some of which are now in Norwich Cathedral.

The building was demolished during road widening in 1968.

Church history Brighton All Souls

Brighton Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See 'The borough of Brighton', A History of the County of Sussex: Volume 7: The rape of Lewes (1940), pp. 244-263. here

An introduction to Brighton's church history Brighton churches and Brighton and Hove Wikipedia

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Brighton All Souls parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Sussex, Parish Registers, 1538-1910 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Sussex Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Sussex Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Brighton All Souls Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1910
1538-1910
1538-1910
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1800s
1538-1800s
1538-1800s
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP



1588-1843
TGEN 1538-1920s
1538-1920s
1538-1920s
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Sussex Record Office and The Keep (which houses the collections of the East Sussex Record Office). West Sussex Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts 1883-1888 Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Brighton All Souls

Suggars, Leslie, and Leeson, Francis. Military Marriages in Brighton in Napoleonic Times. List of Military marriages arranged by Unit (grooms only). Entries are in the Brighton Marriage Register at the County Record Office or Society of Genealogists, London. The article covers the years 1754-1837. Article to be found in magazine Sussex Family Historian, vol.1, #4, March 1974, pages 88-92, and page 96. Family History Library Ref. 942.52 Bsu

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Brighton Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Brighton Residents - the 1662 Hearth Tax. A list of householders along with the number of hearths in their houses. More detail is available in the original record. Article to be found in Sussex Family Historian, vol.7, Sept. 1974 pages 213-216, Family History Library Ref. 942.25 B2su

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 369-375. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Sussex) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.