To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Buckland, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Buckland, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Buckland, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Faversham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Faversham
Registration District Faversham
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ospringe
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BUCKLAND (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union and hundred of Faversham, Upper division of the lathe of Scray, E division of Kent, 3 miles NW by W from Faversham.[1]

The ruins of the church of St Nicholas Buckland, a former Ancient Parish, lie to the south east of Norton and the Buckland Road near Teynham. The area is in the borough of Faversham Faversham Wikipedia The ruins are situated in the civil parish of Norton.

The tower collapsed in 1719 and the parish was absorbed into Norton, Kent Ash St Mary parish.

The ruins are designated as grade II listed building by English Heritage. British listed building

This parish should not be confused with Buckland near Dover, Kent in the same county.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Faversham Registration District

Kent County Council

Registration Services
Invicta House
County Hall
Maidstone
Kent ME14 1XX Telephone 08458 247 400

http://www.kent.gov.uk are developing online search for all birth marriages and deaths as a result of a community volunteer effort. Not all events are capable of search but the index is updated annually.

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Buckland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = findmypast - (£)[2]
Buckland Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1578-1912 1578-1912

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

The Family History Library film for this parish

Bishop's transcripts, 1612-1780; Archdeacon's transcripts, 1579-1781

Further holdings for Buckland Kent relate to Buckland near Dover in the same county.

See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at

Centre for Kentish Studies, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1XX

is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Images for Buckland are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1832

These images are derived from 1987 microfilm Kent Archives reference: Q/RPL/57

Do not confuse with Buckland near Dover, Kent which has separate Land Tax Assessments.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Buckland 1841-1891

(These constitute the films for Buckland near Faversham)

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 420-424. Date accessed: 8 July 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.