Buckland near Dover, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Buckland near Dover, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Buckland near Dover, Kent|
Buckland St Andrew Kent
|Hundred||Bewsborough; Dover Town and Port|
|County||Kent, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Dover|
|Parish registers: 1576|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1565|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent History and Library Centre|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BUCKLAND-in-Dover (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Dover, hundred of Bewsborough, lathe of St. Augustine, E division of Kent, 1¾ mile NW from Dover. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Buckland in and near Dover is a village and civil parish which is within the borough and district of Dover Buckland Wikipedia
Buckland in Dover St Andrew is an Ancient Parish.
Buckland's Saxon church is mentioned in the Domesday Survey. In the 12th century this was replaced by St Andrew's; rebuilt in the 14th century and extended in 1851 and 1880 at which time the 1700 hundred year old Yew tree had to be removed to its present position in the centre of the church yard.
The Parish Church of St Andrew Buckland, Crabble Meadows, Dover has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building
Buckland in Dover is now merged with Dover for local government purposes although previously a village adjacent to Dover.
A short history of the church Buckland St Andrew Dover.
This parish should not be confused with the ruined church of Buckland, Kent Genealogy near Faversham in the same county.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Buckland near Dover parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|KOPC = Kent Online Parish Clerks - free|
|Buckland near Dover Online Parish Records|
|FMP||1577-1928; 1774-1813 (Banns)||1577-1928; 1774-1813 (Banns)||1577-1929||1577-1929|
Original records are deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives.
Buckland near Dover Workhouse registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|Buckland near Dover Workhouse Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through Family History Center Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
- Family History Center Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 420-424. Date accessed: 8 July 2013.
- 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
- Kent Online Parish Clerks, accessed 20 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.