Buffalo, Erie County, New York Genealogy
Guide to Buffalo, Erie County, New York ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
- 1 Resources
- 1.1 African American
- 1.2 Cemeteries
- 1.3 Census Records
- 1.4 Church Records
- 1.5 Directories
- 1.6 History
- 1.7 Repositories
- 1.8 Maps and Atlases
- 1.9 Newspapers
- 1.10 Obituaries
- 1.11 City Records
- 1.12 Vital Records
- 1.13 Voting Registers
- 1.14 Websites
- 1.15 Yearbooks
- 1.16 References
- 1.17 Places
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- African American history and genealogy sources available in the Grosvenor Room at the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library.
- Buffalo Criterion newspaper - African-American newspaper published in Buffalo, NY since 1925
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- Vol. 1
- page 41 - Frick Cemetery, Eggertsville (within the town of Amherst)
- page 82 - Werkley Cemetery, near Sheridan Drive (Buffalo)
- Because of boundary changes, Werkley Cemetery aka St. John's Cemetery is now located in Tonawanda, New York. Burials are listed on the following sites:
- Town History of Tonawanda & Kenmore, New York http://www.tonawanda.ny.us/history/Werkley_Query.asp
- USGenWeb Archives: Werkley Cemetery
Buffalo & Erie County Public Library Cemetery Record Holdings - A research guide.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- Buffalo Wards by Street 1915, 1920, and 1925 - Compiled by the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library.
- Buffalo Wards and Census Tracts by Street, 1940
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1847-1854 - St. Peters German Evangelical Church Records - Buffalo NY 1847 - 1854.
- 1853 - 1853 Membership List, North Presbyterian Church, Buffalo, N.Y., courtesy: Internet Archive.
- 1876? - Catalogue of Members of Church Congregation, Lafayette Street, Presbyterian Church of Buffalo, N.Y., courtesy: Dunham - Wilcox - Trott - Kirk.
- Buffalo & Erie County church records available through the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library
- Early Polish Priests of Western New York at Polish Genealogical Society of New York - free; biographies.
- Records of Grace Lutheran Church, Buffalo, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Directories[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
|Buffalo, New York||Buffalo history sources at the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library.|
|Buffalo, New York Business History||A research guide by the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library.|
Genealogical Resources: Links to history and information about Buffalo, NY.
|Scrapbooks in the Grosvenor Room||The Grosvenor Room is the Special Collections Department at the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library.|
Repositories[edit | edit source]
Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
|Grosvenor Room Genealogy
Buffalo and Erie County Public Library
Buffalo, NY 14203
Email form | blog
Genealogical Resources: Local histories, census records, church and cemetery records, city directories, ethnic and immigration research, African American research, published family histories, maps and atlases, military records and history, vital records, yearbooks and school records. The website includes dozens of guides for topics such as: African-American Genealogy, Canadian Genealogy, German Genealogy, Irish Genealogy, Italian Genealogy, Jewish Genealogy, Native American Genealogy, and Polish Genealogy.
|University at Buffalo Archives
420 Capen Hall
Buffalo, NY 14260-1674
|Archives and Special Collections of Buffalo State College
E.H. Butler Library
1300 Elmwood Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14222
|Genealogical Resources: Private papers, Richard B. Morris Historical Papers (well-known historian).|
|University at Buffalo Polish Room
Room 517, Lockwood Library
Buffalo, NY 14260-2200
|Genealogical Resources: Guides to tracing Polish ancestry, Polish maps, Polish gazetteers, Polish coats of arms, Polish biographies.
A list of local libraries and archives with Polish resources is available online at the Polish-American Heritage in Buffalo and Erie County, New York website.
|Rev. J. Clayton Murray, S.J. Archives & Special Collections
Andrew L. Bouwhuis Library
Canisius College, 2001 Main Street
Buffalo, NY 14208-1098
|Genealogical Resources: Obituaries, student newspapers.|
Frank E. Merriweather, Jr. Library
Genealogical Resources: William A. Miles Center for African and African-American Studies. This is a a resource center in Western New York for a collection of African American history.
E. H. Butler Library
Genealogical Resources: Besides College archive materials there is a collection of the "Edward H. Butler Family Papers" and the "Paul G. Reilly Indian Collection" which involved treaties between various Indian nations and with the United States Government. Some of the documents (photocopies of the original) are as early as 1789. Collections
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
[Formerly known as the Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society]
|Genealogical Resources: Research Library holds city directories, church records (many Roman Catholic parishes), cemetery records, censuses, genealogy books, obituary index to Buffalo newspapers (1811-2001), private papers, obituary request form, published family histories, list of professional researchers for hire.|
|Buffalo and Erie County Library
1 Lafayette Square
Buffalo, NY 14203
|Genealogical Resources: Genealogy Subject Guides.|
|BIGS-Buffalo Irish Genealogical Society
Buffalo Irish Center
245 Abbott Rd
Buffalo, NY 14220
|Genealogical Resources: The GAAA Library Collection, Sons of Erin Indexing Project, Holy Cross Cemetery Records and Index, local history project.|
|William A. Miles Center for African and African-American Studies
Frank E. Merriweather, Jr. Library
1324 Jefferson Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14208
|Genealogical Resources: Books on African-American topics, Schomburg Clipping File, books on African countries.|
City Clerk[edit | edit source]
Genealogy Records and Resources on the City of Buffalo government website explains how to order Buffalo birth, marriage, and death certificates.
City Historian[edit | edit source]
Maps and Atlases[edit | edit source]
- Buffalo & Erie County Atlases: Best Bets for Genealogists and House Researchers - A research guide by the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library.
- Buffalo Street Name Changes - Compiled by the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the largest online collection of 400 New York 1795-2007 newspapers. The instructions for this quirky site are needed to get the most out of it.
Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the following Buffalo, Erie County, New York Genealogy newspaper images:
- Blasdell NY Frontier Herald 1956-1966
- Buffalo NY Daily Courier 1847-1888
- Buffalo NY Evening Courier and Republic 1862-1884
- Buffalo NY Polish Weekly Review 1929-1930
- Buffalo NY Morning Express 1880-1924
- A Timeline of Buffalo Newspapers - By the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library
- Buffalo & Western New York Newspapers at the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library
- Erie County, New York Newspapers at New York State Historic Newspapers
- The Griffin 1933-1948 Canisius College, Buffalo, NY at Canisius College
- The Spectrum 1950-1957 at University at Buffalo
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- BuffaloResearch.com has a compilation of all known online obituary and death notice sources for Buffalo and Erie County.
- Death Notices and Obituaries: Finding deaths in Buffalo & Erie County Newspapers - A research guide by the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library.
- 1911-1941 Dziennik Dla Wsystkich Death Notice Database at Polish Genealogical Society of New York - free. Obituaries of Polish individuals.
City Records[edit | edit source]
To locate additional published and transcribed records for Buffalo, Erie County, New York Genealogy check:
- Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- Polish Midwives of Western New York at Polish Genealogical Society of New York - free.
- 1935 1935 Buffalo, NY Marriages - free.
- Buffalo Deaths 1882-1892 - Deaths listed in Buffalo city directories.
- An Index to Births, Marriages, and Deaths found in select Buffalo & Erie County Publications by the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library.
- A Select Index to the Bellringer, 1940-1945 - A publication by the Bell Aircraft Corporation. The index includes births, marriages, deaths and more. It was created by the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library.
- A Select Index to the Curtiss WrightER, 1943 to 1944 - A publication by the Curtiss-Wright Corporation. The index includes marriages, engagements, deaths and more. It was created by the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library.
- Marriages and Deaths in the Pierce Arrow Newsletter, 1918 to 1922 - A publication by the Pierce Arrow Motor Car Company. The index was created by the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library.
- Vital and Related Records for Buffalo & Erie County - Research guides by the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library.
- The Why of This Book - Early Western New York marriage and death announcements from Buffalo, NY newspapers.
Voting Registers[edit | edit source]
Published official lists of registered voters for the City of Buffalo (1919-1961; 1969-1971) are available in the Grosvenor Room at the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library. The listings are arranged by ward--> district --> street address.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch.org catalog for Buffalo
- Buffalo Genealogy
- Buffalo see: The Erie County NYGenWeb Project, a member of The NYGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
Yearbooks[edit | edit source]
- Yearbooks & School Publications, Buffalo & Erie County - A research guide by the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library.
References[edit | edit source]
- Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub., 2009), 403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.
- Erie County, New York Town Historians, Historical Societies and Historical Museums, Updated: 20 October 2004, http://wnyroots.tripod.com/index-historians.html (accessed 15 December 2011).
Places[edit | edit source]