Burgess Hill St Edward, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Burgess Hill St Edward, Sussex genealogy, ancestry and family history: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Burgess Hill St Edward is an Ecclesiastical Parish formed to serve the development of Burgess Hill West Sussex..

A history of the Burgess Hill Church development is available at Sussex Parish Churches website Burgess Hill

Burgess Hill Wikipedia Burgess Hill West Sussex Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Burgess Hill The Family History Library has no parish register filming for this parish

Census records[edit | edit source]

See Sussex Census

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.