Burgh Castle, Suffolk Genealogy
Guide to Burgh Castle, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Burgh Castle, Suffolk|
|Hundred||Mutford and Lothingland|
|Poor Law Union||Mutford and Lothingland|
|Parish registers: 1694|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1698|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Suffolk Record Office|
History[edit | edit source]
Burgh Castle St Peter and Saint Paul is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich and the county of Suffolk. BURGH, CASTLE (St. Peter), a parish, in the hundred of Mutford and Lothingland, E. division of Suffolk, 4½ miles (W. S. W.) from Yarmouth. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers. Refer to Burgh Castle and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Church records[edit | edit source]
Burgh Castle, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Burgh Castle, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|FS PRs||Undefined||1697-1796, 1813-1901||Undefined||1697-1902||Undefined||1697-1796, 1813-1931|
The Parish Registers begin in 1694. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. A copy of the registers from 1694 to 1900 can be purchased from the Suffolk Record Office. For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Lothingland Deanry, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. See Suffolk Church Record for further details.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Burgh Castle was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District. Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 431-437. Date accessed: 23 September 2013.
- Wikipedia contributors, 'Burgh Castle,' Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Burgh_Castle, accessed 8 February 2014.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.