Burton in Kendal, Westmorland Genealogy
Guide to Burton in Kendal, Westmorland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Part of this parish is in Lancashire. See also Burton in Kendal, Lancashire.
|Burton in Kendal, Westmorland|
|Hundred||[[Kendal; Lonsdale; Lonsdale [Lancashire], Lancashire|Kendal; Lonsdale; Lonsdale [Lancashire]]]|
|Poor Law Union||Kendal|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1676|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Kendal|
|Location of Archive|
|Lancashire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Burton in Kendal is an Ancient Parish mostly in Westmorland and partly in Lancashire.
BURTON-IN-KENDAL (St. James), a parish, partly in Lonsdale ward, and partly in Kendal ward, union of Kendal, county of Westmorland; and partly in the hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster; comprising the township of Dalton, in Lancashire, and the townships of Burton, Holme, Holmscale, and Preston-Patrick, in Westmorland. 
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Burton in Kendal parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Burton in Kendal Online Parish Records|
|IGI||1676-1808, 1808-1883||1676-1806, 1806-1841|
|FS Catalog BTs||1676-1889||1676-1889||1676-1889|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Kendal Archive Centre.
Because Burton in Kendal is partly in Lancashire, also look in Lancashire church records.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 448-452. Date accessed: 16 July 2012.