Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity, Staffordshire|
|Hundred||North Offlow; Repton and Gresley|
|County||Staffordshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Burton upon Trent|
|Registration District||Burton upon Trent|
|Parish registers: 1824|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1824|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Burton upon Trent|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
|Part of this parish is in Derbyshire. See also Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity, Staffordshire Genealogy.|
BURTON-UPON-TRENT (St. Mary and St. Modwena), a parish, and the head of a union, partly in the N. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, and partly in the hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby; comprising the township of Winshill, in Derbyshire, and the townships of Branson, Burton-Extra, Horninglow, and Stretton. A church was built at Stretton in 1829. There are places of worship for General and Particular Baptists, Independents, and Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists. 
Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish partly in Derbyshire and partly in Staffordshire; Created in 1825 from Burton upon Trent [St Mowden] Ancient Parish (Staffordshire). Other places in the parish include: Horninglow, Stretton near Burton upon Trent, and Strettone. Non-Church of England denominations identified in Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity include: The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and Independent/Congregational.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity was fromed in 1825 from part of Burton upon Trent St Modwen, Staffordshire Genealogy and parts of Horninglow, Stretton and Winshill, Staffordshire Genealogy Ecclesiastical parishes. Abolished in 1969 and returned to Burton upon Trent St Modwen, Staffordshire Genealogy
Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|BURTON UPON TRENT HOLY TRINITY PARISH (1601) Online Records|
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Burton upon Trent (Staffordshire) on Genuki
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 452-460. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.
- 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.