Burwell, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Burwell, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Newmarket|
|Parish registers: 1560|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1567|
|Diocese||Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BURWELL (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Newmarket, hundred of Staploe, county of Cambridge, 4 miles NW by W from Newmarket. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Burwell parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Burwell Online Parish Records|
|IGI||1526-1694, 1562-1694, 1695-1800
1695-1800 , 1816, 1823, 1824
1826, 1834, 1835, 1846-1861
|1561-1694, 1695-1754, 1799-1861|
|FS Catalog PRs||1562-1860, 1798-1846||1562-1860, 1798-1846||1562-1860, 1798-1846|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Parish registers of Burwell 1562-1860 at the FHL
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Particular Baptist
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Baptismal register for Burwell Independent Chapel, 1747-1836 at the FHL
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Burwell on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 08 January 2014.