To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Bury, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Bury, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bury, Sussex
St John the Evangelist Bury West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bury
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Sutton
Registration District Chichester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1590
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arundel
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BURY, a parish, in the union of Sutton, hundred of Bury, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 7 miles (S. by E.) from Petworth.[1]

Bury St John the Evangelist is an Ancient Parish in Sussex. Other places in the parish include West Burton.

Bury church history

The parish church has been desingated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Bury Sussex Online Parish Clekrs(OPC)

See Bury Wikipedia

See: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 452-460. [ http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50848+ here]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Chichester registration district

Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralized Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records[edit | edit source]

Bury, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
Bury, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1713-1848, 1880-1890
FREG 1755-1848 1699-1812
IGI 1558-1712, 1849-1885 1558-1881
SOPC Undefined Undefined Undefined

West Sussex Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts 1607-1690

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Burwash

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Sutton (East Preston) Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 452-460. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.