Butterton (near Newcastle under Lyme), Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Butterton (near Newcastle under Lyme), Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Butterton (near Newcastle under Lyme), Staffordshire|
|County||Staffordshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Alstonfield Gilbert Union|
|Registration District||Stoke upon Trent; Stone|
|Parish registers: 1845|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BUTTERTON, an ecclesiastical district, partly in the parishes of Swynnerton and Trentham, union of Stone, and partly in the parish and union of Stoke-Upon-Trent, N. division of the hundred of Pirehilland of the county of Stafford, 2½ miles (S. by W.) from Newcastle-under-Lyme. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Butterton (near Newcastle under Lyme) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Butterton (near Newcastle under Lyme) Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Staffordshive Record Office.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1532/3 - A List of Families in Butterton (near Newcastle under Lyme), Staffordshire Genealogy 1532/3 FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.