Bygland Parish, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bygland, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Bygland Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Agder og Telemark bispedømme (1925-today), Stavanger bispedømme (1684-1925), Oslo bispedømme (1070-1684)
Prosti Otredal prosti
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Nedene
Fylke 1919-Present Aust-Agder
Region Sørlandet
Prestegjeld Bygland
Kommune Bygland
Skifteretten Setesdal
Tinglag Vestre Raabyggelag
Fogderi Vestre Raabyggelag
Skipreide Bygland


Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Digitized images of parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This covers the Bygland clerical district includes the parishes Sandnes, Årdal, Austad, and Bygland and is available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.


  • 1664-1666 Civil Census: This covers Bygland clerical district and includes the parishes of Bygland, Austad, Sandnes, and Årdal and is available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.



  • 1865: The 1865 census for Bygland clerical district includes the parishes of Sandnes, Austad, Bygland, and Årdal and is available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district. In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1875: The 1875 census for Bygland clerical district includes the parishes of Austad, Bygland, Sandnes, and Årdal and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).



  • 1900: The 1900 census for Bygland clerical district, includes the parishes Austad, Bygland, Sandnes, and Årdal, and is available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Also available online at Digital Archives (Digital Archives).


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Vollen, Reidar, 1943-: Bygland: gard og ætt.

This community tree is the result of merging the extracted data from 3 volumes of bygdebok (local or community history) for the Bygland clerical district. Bygland is in the Setesdal region and consists of 3 parishes: Bygland, Austad, and Sandnes. No additions or corrections are accepted for this community tree. If you see information that you believe is incorrect or incomplete, the information can be corrected or updated in Family Tree.

Farm histories and genealogical information on farm residents in Bygland, Aust-Agder co., Norway.

Contents: v. 1. Langeid, Hegland, Ånebjør -- v. 2. Sordal, Tveit, Heistad, Moi -- v. 3. Austad, Ose, Skore, Kile -- v. 4. Froysnes, Innleiing til Åraksbø, Nordenå, Gakkestad, Lidtveit, Hautgeveit, Rosevall, Segberg -- v. 5. Stoplestog, Nedstoga, Eldhuset, Nordgarden, Haugen -- v. 6. Sandnes, Skomedal --v. 7. Nese, Kvåle, Skreland, Innleiding til Jordalsbø, Nørstebø.

FHL 948.28/B1 D2 To view a digital version click here.

Bolling, Reidar: Gards-og ættesoge for Bygland

FHL 948.28/B1 D2

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Names Index in about 1900 were as follows:

45 Aakhus,

46 Bygland,

53 Hage, 48 Hamre, 36 Haugaa

39 Kolshus, 41 Krosstu, 36 Kvaale,

51 Lauvdal nordre, 44 Lien,

50 Naanes, 43 Nerhus, 35 Nese, 38 Nordibø, 38 Nørstebø,

52 Odden, 43 Opsal,

47 Præstegaarden,

40 Salvehus, 34 Skaamedal, 49 Skjervrak, 37 Skreland, 42 Stuttestu, 48 Sørjordet,

34 Volden

The names of the places listed in the farm history for Bygland are:

Apledokk, Apleknodden, Attestog, Austad, Austad Syndre,

Bakka, Bakkan, Bakke, Bakken, Bakkeåsen, Bekkerus, Bekkjerus, Bergland, Bilitt, Birkeland, Bjønnvodd, Bjørkevodden, Bomhuset, Borgi, Bratteland, Breiland, Breivoll, Brendebakk, Brokke, Brunes, Bubakk, Bukteplassen, Bygland, Bygland Prestegard, Bø, Bås,

Dale, Dalen, Der Atte, Der Hite, Der Nede, Der Nord, Der Sør, Drivslid,

Eldhuset, Einerholtet, Eivindstad, Elingstjønn,

Fitjebakk, Fjosbakk, Flateland, Flatin, Fosslid, Fosstveit, Frujordet, Frydenlund, Frøyrak, Frøyraksmonen, Frøysnes, Furuheim,

Gakkestad, Galgebakk, Gamlestog, Gausi, Glosimot, Graneflot, Granheim, Greibrokk, Grundetjønnheia, Grønli,

Hagan, Hage, Hagelidstykket, Hagen, Hageslett, Hamre, Hamren, Haslebakken, Haugen, Haugen Nordre, Haugen Syndre, Haugetveit, Haugevoll, Haugå, Heddeneset, Heddevikstykket, Hedevikki, Heggtveit, Hegland, Heidemork, Heistad, Holland, Holtebu, Holten, Holtet, Horverak, Hovstad, Huset, Hverven, Hvile, Hækni, Høgevoll, Høyebakk, Høyver, Hågetveit,

Innistog, Ivarsplass,

Jarpedokk, Jonsplass, Jordalsbø, Jotjønnheia, Jotjønnheidi, Jørundlid,

Kaddehagen, Kaset, Kasin, Kile, Kilen, Kjarret, Klampenborg, Kleivevollen, Klepp, Knollen, Knutsplass, Knutstog, Kolbudalen, Kolbutufti, Kolshus, Kosi, Kraftverket, Kristihagen, Kroka, Krokan, Krossen, Krosstog, Kvina, Kvinnebakkane, Kvåle, Kvålsmo, Kåsi,

Lampedokk, Lande, Langeid, Langeli, Lauvdal, Lauvli, Leikvam, Leikvollen, Leivstøyl, Libakk, Libuteigen, Lidtveit, Lidi, Lislemo, Livollen, Ljotstog, Longerak, Lundebrekka, Lundan, Lunden, Lure, Lyse,

Mele, Midbø, Moi, Moland, Moled, Monen, Monå, Myhola, Myran,

Natebakk, Nedgarden Frøysnes, Nedre Gakkestad, Nedre Haugan, Nedre Hage, Nedre Heimigard, Nedre Hegland, Nedre Huset, Nedre Lande, Nedre Lidi, Nedre Nordgarden Hage, Nedre Skeie, Nedre Skreland, Nedre Søbø, Nedre Søgarden, Nedre Tjømlet, Nedre Vollen, Nedstoga, Nerhus, Nese, Neset, Nevesjordet, Nordena, Nordgard, Nordgarden, Nordgarden Austad, Nordheim, Nordibø, Nordigard Frøysnes, Nordihus, Nordlid, Nordre Huset, Nygård, Nyheim, Nystøyl, Nørstebø, Nørstegard, Nørstevodd, Nånes,

Odden, Oppigard Frøysnes, Oppistog, Ormslidheidi, Ose,

Plassane, Plassen, Pytten, Raustad, Reise, Rinden, Rom, Rosevall, Rossedalen, Rotun, Rukadden, Ryningen, Rysbrekka, Ryslid, Røyrtveit,

Sagemo, Sandeker, Sandnes, Sandnes Nordre, Sandnes Syndre, Sandvassdalen, Setberg, Skeie, Skjerebakken, Skjevrak, Skogen, Skogly, Skomedal, Skore, Skoren, Skorsplass, Skotet, Skreland, Sletta, Slettin, Smidjan, Snauekra, Solbakken, Solbergmoen, Solheim, Sordal, Sorlandsmoen, Stampehuset, Stamsnes, Stareholtet, Steinevodden, Steinlid, Steinstog, Steinteigen, Stigemo, Stoga, Stoplestog, Storevoll, Storrvollen, Storstoga, Strandheim, Straumen, Stuvelunden, Støylehommen, Sundet, Sverike, Søbø, Søjordet, Sørgarden, Såghus,

Tarjeistog, Teigen, Tinnbakk, Tjømlet, Torsteinsplass, Troddeberg, Troin, Trældalane, Træltveit, Tveit, Tveitskor, Tveitå, Tyskeplassen,

Urdi, Ureskog, Urmork, Utlid,

Vassend, Vetsto, Vikelid, Viki, Vittenberg, Vodden, Voddå, Vollen, Vrålsplass,

Ystejordet,

Øvre Hage, Øvre Haugan, Øvre Haugå, Øvre Heimigard, Øvre Hegland, Øvre Huset, Øvre Lande, Øvre Nordgarden, Øvre Søgarden, Øvre Vollen, Øvre Åkhus, Øyna, Øyrek,

Åkhus, Åland, Ånebjørg, Åraksbø, Århus, Åsen

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Seland, Per, 1924-; Jørund Kvåle i Byglund. A genealogy of the descendants of Tollef Torgeirson Kvåle living in 1434 in Bygland, Aust-Agder, Norway. Includes biographies.

FHL 929.2481 A1 FamilySearch Catalog

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Vestre Råbyggelag judicial district
*1697-1862 Family History Library

Setesdal judicial district
*1697-1909 Digitalarkivet
*1856-1881 Family History Library

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

Bolling, Reidar.  Gards- og Ættesoge For Bygland. Kristiansand:  Edgar Høgfeldt A.S, 1952.