Cambridge All Saints, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Cambridge All Saints, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cambridge All Saints, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cambridge Borough
County Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Cambridge
Registration District Cambridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cambridge
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Cambridge All Saints is a parish in Cambridge. All Saints' church, opposite Jesus College, ...is an edifice in the Early English style of the 14th century. The register dates from the year 1538.[1] See Cambridge for more information. The following is a comprehensive list of ecclesiastical parishes (and chapels) which comprised all of this large township's churches serving it and the range of years of availability of online church registers on various websites which hold almost complete coverage for this large township and its parishes (which see the wiki page for each one):

  • All Saints - 1538
  • St. Andrew the Great - 1599
  • St. Andrew the Less or Barnwell - 1599
  • St. Barnabas - 1878
  • St. Benedict - 1539
  • St. Botolph - 1564
  • St. Clement - 1560 (baptisms from 1567)
  • St. Edward - 1558
  • St. Giles - 1585
  • St. John's Chapel - 1848 (visit Cambridgeshire Archives)
  • St. Mary the Great - 1538
  • St. Mary the Less - 1557
  • St. Matthew - 1870 (visit Cambridgeshire Archives)
  • St. Michael - 1538
  • St. Paul - 1841
  • St. Peter - 1586 (later St Paul was united to it)
  • St. or Holy Sepulchre - 1569
  • Holy Trinity - 1566
  • Christ Church - 1839
  • New Town Chapelry - 1841


Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

This information is listed under Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Cambridge All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years and websites:

FS = FamilySearch - free - Click magnifying glass
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Cambridgeshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Cambridgeshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
CFHS = Cambridge Family History Society (website) - 100% county coverage to 1900
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes (FindMyPast) - free
Cambridge All Saints (1538) Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS (PRs & Bts) 1538-1876 1538-1876 1538-1876 1538-1876 1538-1850 1538-1850
FREG 1539-1950
1540-1949
1540-1966
FMP 1538-1950
1538-1973
1538-1950
FMP Banns

1653-1981


NBI



1538-1939
BOYD

1538-1850


CFHS 1538-1900

1538-1900

1538-1850

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Copies of parish registers are also available through the Society of Genealogists and the Cambridge Archives.

Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Baptist
  • Particular Baptist
  • Independent
  • Presbyterian
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day saints - 1842

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Cambridge All Saints on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Kelly's Directory of Cambridgeshire, publ. London: 1904. Adapted. Accessed 22 March 2019.