Cambridge St Andrew the Great, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Cambridge St Andrew the Great, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Cambridge St Andrew the Great, Cambridgeshire|
|County||Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Cambridge|
|Parish registers: 1635|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Cambridge St Andrew the Great is a parish in Cambridge. The church of St. Andrew the Great, in St. Andrew’s street, opposite Christ’s College, is a modern building of stone in the Early English style. The register dates from the year 1564. See Cambridge for more information.
The church of St. Andrew the Great was rebuilt in 1643, and again in 1845.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Cambridge St Andrew the Great parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Cambridge St Andrew the Great Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||1600-1837|
|FS Catalog BTs||1600-1864||1600-1864||1600-1864|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Society of Friends
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day saints
Census records[edit | edit source]
Information regarding these records is available on the Wiki Page for Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Cambridge St Andrew on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]