Cambridge St Andrew the Less, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Cambridge St Andrew the Less, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cambridge St Andrew the Less, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cambridge Borough
County Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Cambridge
Registration District Cambridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1753
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cambridge
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Cambridge St Andrew the Less is a parish in Cambridge. The church of St. Andrew the Less, on the Newmarket road, formerly the parish church, but now subordinated to Christ Church, is a small but ancient building of stone in the Lancet style. The registers, dating from 1753, are kept at Christ Church.[1] See Cambridge for more information.

St. Matthew’s is an ecclesiastical parish, formed June 28, 1870, out of the parish of St. Andrew the Less: the church, in St. Matthew’s street, Barnwell, built in 1866. The register dates from the year 1870.[2]

The church of St. Andrew the Less, or Barnwell, was partly built out of Barnwell priory. The old church stands eastward from the town, and is supposed to have been built from the ruins of the priory at Barnwell. The village of Barnwell has suffered from repeated fires, the last and most destructive of which was on the 30th of Nov. 1731, when the greater part of the houses were consumed. A chapel of ease was erected a few years since; and an additional church, dedicated to Christ, a handsome edifice in the later English style, and now used as the parish church, was consecrated on the 27th of July, 1839.[3]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Cambridge St Andrew the Less parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Cambridgeshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Cambridgeshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes (FindMyPast) - free
Cambridge St Andrew the Less (1599) Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1599-1729
1599–1729
1599-1728
FREG 1599-1950
1599-1949
1599-1966
FMP 1599-1950
1599-1973
1599-1950
FMP Banns

1653-1981


NBI



1538-1939
BOYD

1538-1850


ANC 1599-1975
1599–1973
1599-1991

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Copies of parish registers are also available through the Society of Genealogists and the Cambridge Archives. Microfilm and digital copies of original registers are now available at FamilySearch.org (see FS) for the above years indicated.

Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Baptist
  • Independent
  • Particular Baptist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints - 1842

Census records[edit | edit source]

Information on these records in available on the Wiki page for Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Cambridge St Andrew the Less on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Kelly's Directory of Cambridgeshire, publ. London: 1904. Adapted. Accessed 22 March 2019.
  2. Kelly's Directory of Cambridgeshire, publ. London: 1904. Adapted. Accessed 22 March 2019.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 479-497. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.