Cambridge St Peter, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Cambridge St Peter, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Cambridge St Peter, Cambridgeshire|
|County||Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Cambridge|
|Parish registers: 1586; For more records see Cambridge St Giles|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Cambridge St Peter is a parish in Cambridge. The parish of St. Peter, by a provisional order which came into operation on March 25th, 1885. was amalgamated for poor law purposes with that of St. Giles. The church, on Castle hill, is an ancient edifice of stone, in the Norman. The registers, which date from 1586, are kept at St. Giles’s church. See Cambridge for more information. Also see St Giles.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Cambridge St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Cambridge St Peter Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||1586-1758|
|FS Catalog BTs||1599-1835||1599-1835||1599-1835|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Particular Baptist
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day saints
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Cambrdige St Peter on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Kelly's Directory of Cambridgeshire, publ. London: 1904. Adapted. Accessed 22 March 2019.