Cambridge St Sepulchre, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Cambridge St Sepulchre, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cambridge St Sepulchre, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cambridge Borough
County Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Cambridge
Registration District Cambridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1567
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cambridge
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Cambridge St Sepulchre is a parish in Cambridge. The church of the Holy Sepulchre, in Bridge street, commonly known as “the round church,” and the oldest of the four round churches in England, is a building of the Norman period, erected about 1101. The register dates from the year 1575.[1] See Cambridge for more information.

The church was built by the Templars in 1101, and restored by the Camden Society in 1843. St. Sepulchre's, or the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, is on the east side of Bridge-street, and is remarkable for the peculiarity of construction of the more ancient part of it, which is believed to be the oldest remaining specimen of the circular churches erected by the Knights Templars on the model of that of the Holy Sepulchre at Jerusalem, and to have been built in the reign of Henry I.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Cambridge St Sepulchre parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Cam BTs = England, Cambridgeshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1599-1860 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Cambridgeshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes (FindMyPast) - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Cambridge St Sepulchre Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
Cam BTs 1599-1860
1599-1860
1599-1860
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FREG 1539-1950
1540-1949
1540-1966
FMP 1538-1950
1538-1973
1538-1950
NBI



1538-1939
BOYD

1538-1850


ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
IGI 1571-1655, 1656-1689, 1689-1786
1569-1811


FS Catalog PRs
1567-1876
1567-1876, 1569-1812
1567-1876
FS Catalog BTs
1599-1865
1599-1865
1599-1865

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Copies of parish registers are also available through the Society of Genealogists and the Cambridge Archives.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Jewish synagogue

Other chapels and congregations within Cambridge Township included--

  • Baptist
  • Particular Baptist
  • Independent
  • Presbyterian
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day saints

Census records[edit | edit source]

This information is listed under Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Cambridge St Sepulchre or Holy Sepulchre on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Kelly's Directory of Cambridgeshire, publ. London: 1904. Adapted. Accessed 22 March 2019.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 479-497. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk