To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Camden County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Camden County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Camdenton
Organized: January 29, 1841
Parent County(s): Benton, Pulaski[1]
Neighboring Counties
Benton  • Dallas  • Hickory  • Laclede  • Miller  • Morgan  • Pulaski
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriCamdenCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Missouri Camden County Map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Charles Pratt, 1st Earl Camden. The County is located in the central area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Camden County Courthouse
1 Court Circuit
Camdenton, MO 65020
Phone: 573-346-4440
Camden County Website

County Records has marriage and divorce records from 1902.
Probate Judge has probate records from 1902.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has court records from 1902.
Tompkins Abstract Office has land records.[3]

Camden County, Missouri Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1910 1902 1910 1902 1849 1902 1830
Statewide registration started in 1910 for births and deaths. General compliance for births by 1927 and deaths by 1911.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1902 Courthouse burned. Some deeds were re-recorded in 1902.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1841 Camden County was created 29 January 1841 from Benton and Pulaski Counties.
  • County seat: Camdenton[5] Camden County was originally named Kinderhook County. It was renamed in 1843.

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places in Camden County, MO, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.
The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all 114 Missouri Counties.
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships
None listed


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Camden County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Camden County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Camden County Missouri contained many churches over the years. Many small local churches were created and disbanded over the years. Known churches currently include:

Missionary Baptist Churches in Mack's Creek

The first known congregation was originally organized in September 1873 and held meetings in private homes and in the Mack's Creek School House until August 1880. This group disbanded in 1880. Founding members included Ben Allison, Martha Allison, Alfred Catron, Sarah Catron, Lucinda Catron, George Catron, George Heffner, and Elders Joe Miller, L.J. Tatum, and W.W. Palmer. The same month this congregation disbanded, another Missionary Baptist Church was formed in Mack's Creek. This church continued until 1886. Known members were Elders J.M. Russell, J.M. Stincipher, and William West, as well as members J.E. Fowler and A.W. Kain. The present Mack's Creek Missionary Baptist Church was organized on January 24, 1910. There were eight different Baptist meetings in and around Mack's Creek. Source: "The Builders, A History of Mack's Creek 1872-1972." Mack's Creek Lions Club

Other Camden County Churches

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Camden County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • Camden County Historical Society (Camden, Missouri). Camden county historian : A History of Camdenton. Camden, Missouri : [s.n.], 1977. Available online at Family Search
  • Biographies from The History of Camden County, Missouri (1889) published by Goodspeed are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Benton CountyMorgan CountyMiller CountyPulaski CountyLaclede CountyDallas CountyPolk CountyHickory CountyMO CAMDEN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Regiments
Service men in Camden County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Camden County, Missouri:

- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 9th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 9th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 47th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 47th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 47th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 47th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 47th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 47th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 47th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 47th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 6th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company I
- 8th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company G
- 8th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company H
- 8th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company I
- 9th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company K

World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Camden County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Camden County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Camden_County,_Missouri, accessed 18 Sept 2018.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Camden County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Camden County, Missouri," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, Camden County Missouri, accessed 31 August 2019.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.