Canóvanas, Puerto Rico Genealogy
| Puerto Rico Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| Record Types | |
| Puerto Rico Background | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Guide to Municipality of Canóvanas family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Contents
History[edit | edit source]
Canóvanas was a "barrio" (ward) of Loíza for over 400 years. In 1902, the Legislative Assembly of Puerto Rico approved a law for the consolidation of certain municipalities. As a result, both Canóvanas and Loíza were incorporated to the town of Río Grande. However, in 1905 a new law revoked the previous one, returning Canóvanas to its previous state as a "barrio" of Loíza. In 1909, the Municipal administration of Loíza was transferred to the barrio of Canóvanas, which was more developed than the Loíza region. However, the transfer wasn't well-received by the residents of the original City of Loíza, renamed "Loiza Aldea". It wasn't until a law was passed on June 30, 1969, that both towns were recognized as "clearly different population nuclei" recommending the establishment of two separate municipalities. [1]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, 1885-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, Canóvanas, browse images
- Puerto Rico Births and Baptisms, 1938-1947 — index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Until the church records of this municipality are digitized and published online, write to the local Catholic Church for records prior to 1876. To find the address of the local parish, consult the Catholic Directory. For help with writing your letter or e-mail, use the Letter Writing Guide for Genealogy. If it seems that the priest would prefer to correspond in Spanish, use the Spanish Letter Writing Guide.
.
Inasmuch as Canóvanas was a barrio within Loíza for 400 years, searching these church records could provide records for Canóvanas.
- Puerto Rico, Catholic Church Records, 1645-1969, Loíza, browse images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Canóvanas, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Can%C3%B3vanas,_Puerto_Rico, accessed 12/12/20.
