|Canada Research Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Canada genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Canada Research
Links to articles on getting started with Canada research.
Canada Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Canada research.
Canada Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Click on the map below to go to the province or territory's Wiki article listing more information.
Provinces and Territories[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the provincial level in Canada. Click on a province below to go to the Wiki article listing more information.
- British Columbia
- New Brunswick
- Newfoundland & Labrador
- Northwest Territories
- Nova Scotia
- Prince Edward Island
More Canada Research Strategies[edit | edit source]
Research strategies give guidance on how to research or what records to search for first. Below are additional research strategy Wiki articles for Canada.
- BYU Canada Research Outline largely duplicates these Wiki pages. Includes some bibliographic lists from BYU Library, 2001.
- Tracing Family History: Canada Immigration and Citizenship - Genealogy Guide
- Jonasson, Eric. The Canadian Genealogical Handbook: A Comprehensive Guide to Finding Your Ancestors in Canada. Winnipeg: Wheatfield Press, 1978.
More Canada Research Tools[edit | edit source]
Research tools can include resources that assist in locating correct records to search and determining the correct locality to search in. Below are links and Wiki articles to research tools in Canada.
- Digital images of the Census of Canada are available at Library and Archives Canada.
- Early Canadiana Online - online collection of early Canadian print heritage.
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Canada online genealogy courses
- Familysearch Canada records collections
- Family History Center locator map
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Canada," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canada, accessed 24 March 2016.
[edit | edit source]