To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Cannon County, Tennessee Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cannon County, Tennessee)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Cannon County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Woodbury
Organized: January 31, 1836
Parent County(s): Warren, Rutherford, Smith[1]
Neighboring Counties
Coffee  • DeKalb  • Rutherford  • Warren  • Wilson
See County Maps
Courthouse
Cannon county courthouse Tennessee.jpg
Location Map
Location of Cannon county, Tennessee.PNG
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
TGW 45x45.jpg This page adopted by:
TNGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county is named after Tennessee Governor Newton Cannon (1781-1841).[2] The County is located in the central area of the state. [3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Cannon County Courthouse
200 West Main St.
Woodbury, TN 37190
Cannon County Website Phone: 615-563-8142
Cannon County Clerk Phone: 615-563-4278
Cannon County Clerk & Master's Office Phone: 615-563-5936
Cannon County Register of Deeds Phone: 615-563-2041

County Clerk has marriage records from 1838.
Register of Deeds has land records. [4]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[5] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[6] (male)

Cannon County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[7]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1881 1838 1881 1836 1836 1836 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1914. General compliance by 1927.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1934 Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.[8]

  • Lack of marriage records: 1836 to 1837

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[10]

Towns
Unincorporated communities


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

All of the family biographies from the History of Cannon County, Tennessee (1887) by Goodspeed Publishing Co., are available online at My Genealogy Hound.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Miller, Alan N. Middle Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1784 to 1902. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2004. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2ma. Purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Cannon County.]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Cannon County, Tennessee online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.

 

  • 1888-1906 W.P.A. Cannon County Bible, Family, and Tombstone Records. TSLA, Roll 8 of Record Group 107. Microfilmed in the 1930s. Free online index, created by Steve Carson through GSC Associates Historical Records Products. (The pages may load slowly.) For a small fee, the company sells three Cannon County CDs, which include a digitized version of this book, and a variety of other local records.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Cannon County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Cannon County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. The USGenWeb Census Project®

Tennessee, Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1810-1891 - Ancestry ($)

1810 Lost, except for those records coming from portions of parent county Rutherford. A substitute exists for lost portions:

  • Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. FHL 976.8 X2s 1810.

1810-1891

1891 Voter

1840

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

1850

  • Porch, Deane. Cannon County Tennessee, 1850 Census. Franklin, Tennessee: C. Lynch, 1974. FHL 976.8535 X2p 1850
  • S-K Publications. "Cannon County, TN-1850 Census Index," available online through USGenWeb Archives.

1860

1880

  • Sistler, Byron and Barabara Sistler. 1880 Census, Cannon County, Tennessee. Nashville, Tennessee: Byron Sistler and Assoc., 1974. FHL 976.8 A1 no. 119

1890- Lost but a substitute is available:

  • Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Illinois: Byron Sistler and Assoc., 1978. FHL 976.8 X2s 1890

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist

Court Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1836-1897 - W.P.A. Cannon County Deed Index, Volume 1. Typescript, TSLA, Roll 8 of Record Group 107. Microfilmed in the 1930s. Free online index, created by Steve Carson through GSC Associates Historical Records Products. (The pages may load slowly.) For a small fee, the company sells two Cannon County CDs, which include a digitized version of this book, and a variety of other local records.
  • 1836-1895 - W.P.A. Cannon, and County Record of Wills Book A. TSLA, Roll 8 of Record Group 107. Microfilmed in the 1930s. Free online index, created by Steve Carson through GSC Associates Historical Records Products. (The pages may load slowly.) For a small fee, the company sells three Cannon County CDs, which include a digitized version of this book, and a variety of other local records.

Law and Legislation

  • Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service. The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at the TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

General

As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Cannon, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 30,000 entries.

Bibliography

  • Alexander - Andrews, Vera B. Alexanders of Cannon Co., TN: A Family History and Genealogy, Covering 1848-1989, Plus Some Earlier. Elkhart, Ind.: V.B. Andrews, 1989. FHL Book 929.273 AL26av.
  • Dickson - Smith, Austin Wheeler. The Dickson-McEwen and Allied Families Genealogy. Cookeville, TN: Unknown, 1945. FHL Book 929.273 D561s. Digital version available at Heritage Quest Online ($).
  • Duggin - Butler, E. Dean. History of the Duggin and Related Families of Cannon County, Tennessee. Memphis, Tenn.: E.D. Butler, 1979. FHL Book 929.273 D879d.
  • George - See Gray.
  • Gray - Webb, Thomsa G. The Webb Families of Dekalb County, Tennessee, and 23 Related Families: Including Bethel, Cantrell, Colvert, Fuson, Gribble, Hicks, Jaco, Judkins, Magness, Mangum, Moser, Parker, Potter, Redmon, Snow, Turner, and Weedon Families, Along with the Farmer and Foushee Families of Virginia; the Gray, George, and Sageley Families of Cannon County, Tennessee, the Nathaniel Miller Family of Rutherford County, Tennessee, and Others. Smithville, Tenn.: Bradley Printing Co., 2002. FHL Book 929.273 W381wt.
  • McEwen - See Dickson.
  • Sageley - See Gray.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

  • Cannon County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1836 and is located at Courthouse, Public Square, Woodbury, Tennessee 37190; (615) 563-4278. Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries.
  • The Family History Library has microfilm copies of deed books 1836-1892 with indexes 1836-1916; land entries 1836-1897; Surveyors' books 1836-1860; and oil and gas leases 1869-1881.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • The Goodspeed Histories of Cannon, Coffee, DeKalb, Warren and White Counties: With Biographical Sketches and Aboriginal Map of Tennessee. McMinnville, TN: B. Lomond Press, 1972. Reprint. Originally published: Nashville, TN: Goodspeed Pub. Co., 1887. Available at FHL US/CAN Film 924077 Item 2. Digital version available at World Vital Records ($).

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

DeKalb CountyWarren CountyCoffee CountyRutherford CountyWilson CountyTN CANNON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War
The following Cannon County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:

Additional resources include:

War of 1812

  • Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Jan. 1960):13-16. FHL Book 976.8 B2a v. 7 (1960); digital version at journal website. Includes Cannon County pensioners (pp. 15-16).

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Cannon County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Cannon County:

Confederate Soldiers

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Cannon County:

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Cannon County click on the following towns:

Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1794-1851 - Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL Book 976.8 V2L.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Prisons[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:

The Upper Cumberland Researcher
Genealogical articles with abstracts of records of Cannon County, Tennessee have been published in The Upper Cumberland Researcher, the journal of the Upper Cumberland Genealogical Association, Inc. To view a list of the first 17 years of these articles, visit their online Seventeen Year Index to The Upper Cumberland Researcher (Vols. 1-17, 1975-1992). The Index contains a "Counties" section beginning on page 19. The Family History Library has most issues through the present FHL Book 976.8 B2u (1975-1993) and FHL Book 976.8 B2u (1994-present).

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

The Cannon County Court has responsibility for the probate records.

Online Records

Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1836-1895 - W.P.A. Cannon, and County Record of Wills Book A. TSLA, Roll 8 of Record Group 107. Microfilmed in the 1930s.Free online index, created by Steve Carson through GSC Associates Historical Records Products. (The pages may load slowly.) For a small fee, the company sells three Cannon County CDs, which include a digitized version of this book, and a variety of other local records
  • 1836-1895 - Carlson, Gladys. Abstract of Cannon County, Tennessee Will Book. Signal Mountain, Tennessee: Mountain Press, [2001?]. Indexed. Contains Vol. A. (FHL book 976.8535 P28c.)
  • 1836-1861 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. Includes an index to this county's probate records.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1847 "Cannon County, Tennessee Tax Sale, 1847," Upper Cumberland Genealogical Association Bulletin, Vol. 14, No. 4 (Aug. 1990): 181-. For access, see Cannon.
  • 1854 Spradley, Pat. "Cannon County, TN - Census - Insolvent Tax List, 1854," available online through USGenWeb Archives. Source: Cannon County Clerk Minute Book C:400 (Jan Term 1855), TSLA Roll #21.
  • 1869 "Cannon County Land Sold for Unpaid Taxes in 1869," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 44, No. 1 (Spring 1997):8. For FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Cannon.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Indexes and Records


Book Abstracts and Indexes

Death[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Adams Memorial Library
212 College St.
Woodbury, TN 37190
Phone: 615-563-5861 (Main Library)
Contacts: cannonlib@dtccom.net
Website

Special Notes: A great library with a growing genealogy collection. The library has an online catalog.

Cannon County Library Auburntown Branch
73 East Main Street
Auburntown TN 37016
Phone: 615-464-2622
website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society
PO Box 330948
Nashville, TN, USA 37203-7507
Website

The society serves the 40 counties of middle Tennessee of which Cannon County is one. It publishes The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy & History, a quarterly containing articles of genealogical and historical interest. Little-known Tennessee records are published and indexed, along with family genealogies, Bible records and material submitted by members. There is an alphabetical Index to articles in the Journal 1988-summer 2005

Cannon County Historical Society
Website

Meets quarterly at the Adams Memorial Library where information may be obtained regarding the society.

Auburntown, Tennessee, Historical Society Blog
Website

A blogspot dedicated to focusing on the past, present and future of Auburntown, Tennessee.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

Research Guides

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Cannon, Tennessee" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cannon_County,_Tennessee accessed 17 Dec 2018
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  6. Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Lost Records: Courthouse Fires and Disasters in Tennessee in Tennessee State Library and Archives in Tennessee Secretary of State (accessed 13 March 2016).
  9. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  10. Wikipedia contributors, "Cannon County, Tennessee," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cannon_County,_Tennessee#Communities, accessed 8 November 2019.
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/6/60/Igitennesseea.pdf.
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/6/60/Igitennesseea.pdf.