To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Canterbury St Dunstan, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Canterbury St Dunstan

Guide to Canterbury St Dunstan, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Canterbury St Dunstan, Kent
Canterbury St Dunstan Kent.jpg
Canterbury St Dunstan Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westgate
County Kent
Poor Law Union Blean
Registration District Blean
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canterbury
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Canterbury St Dunstan is an Ancient Parish in the city.

The church is referred to in 1174 as the place in which King Henry II, during his penitential pilgrimage following the murder of Thomas a Becket in the Canterbury Cathedral, changed into sackcloth.

The church contains memorials to the Roper family, Margaret daughter of Sir Thomas More and wife of William Roper.

St Dunstan also contains a recent stained glass window to commemorate the visit of Pope John Paul II to Canterbury.

See also Kent Archaeological Society and St Dunstan Canterbury Wikipedia
See also Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 33-42 at British History Onlineand Kent Churches website

A history of the church is available at Kent Family History Society

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

SeeBlean Registration District Canterbury Registration district

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records.

There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Canterbury St Dunstan parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = findmypast - (£)[1][2][3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
Canterbury St Dunstan Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1574-1912 1574-1912 1561-1928 1561-1928 1559-1969 1559-1969
FREG 1560-1800
1560-1800
1559-1800
IGI 1560-1800 1560-1800
PALL
1790-1800

Description of the deposited records at the Canterbury Cathedral Archives is available at Kent Family History Society.

Family History Library film numbers: Canterbury St Dunstan Archdeacon's transcripts, 1560-1813; Bishop's transcripts, 1603-1907
Canterbury St Dunstan Parish registers 1559-1969 original records at the Canterbury Cathedral Archives, The Precincts, in Canterbury, England. Canterbury Cathedral Archives call nos.: U3/141/1/1-24.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Family Search microfilm for Census Returns for the city are at Census returns for Canterbury, 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.