To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Canterbury St Gregory the Great, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Canterbury St Gregory the Great

Guide to Canterbury St Gregory the Great, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Canterbury St Gregory the Great, Kent
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westgate
County Kent
Poor Law Union Blean
Registration District Blean
Records begin
Parish registers: 1852
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Canterbury St Gregory the Great Canterbury was an Extra Parochial place neighbouring Canterbury Holy Cross Westgate, Kent and Canterbury St Mary North Gate, Kent

The church of St Gregory the Great which dates from 1848 ( by Sir George Gilbert Scott) Old Ruttington Lane Canterbury has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Blean Registration District Canterbury Registration district

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Canterbury St Gregory the Great was an extra parochial place in the city

The church of St Gregory the Great which dates from 1848 ( by Sir George Gilbert Scott) Old Ruttington Lane Canterbury has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building

For an overview of the City Canterbury Kent Online Parish Clerks

Canterbury St Gregory the Great parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = findmypast - (£)[1][2][3]
Canterbury St Gregory the Great Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1852-1912 1852-1912 1852-1928 1852-1928 1852-1939 1852-1939

FamilySearch microfilm holdings are not readily pin pointed due to the hierarchy of the currently available catalogue online , the search terms England, Kent, Canterbury produce 206 microfilm holdings.

A description of deposited records at Canterbury Cathedral Archives is available at Kent Family History Society.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Family Search microfilm for Census Returns for the city are at Census returns for Canterbury, 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable).

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.