To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Canterbury St Mildred with St Mary de Castro, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Canterbury St Mildred with St Mary de Castro

Guide to Canterbury St Mildred with St Mary de Castro, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Canterbury St Mildred with St Mary de Castro, Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Canterbury City and Borough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Canterbury
Registration District Canterbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for Canterbury St Mildred beginning 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1569; Separate records exist for Canterbury St Mildred beginning 1569
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canterbury
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

The Church of St Mildred is late Saxon in origin and sited on the ancient Roman Boundary walls of the city. The extensive parish without the City Wall to the South West of the city is an Ancient Parish.

The Parish Church of St Mildred, Church Lane, Canterbury has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Further detailed history of the church, parish and some of the recorded notable marriages and burials for this large parish are included Kent Archaeological Society

The church is referred to in Edward Hasted, 'Canterbury: The churches within the city and suburbs', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 11 (1800), pp. 209-288, at British History Online

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Canterbury Registration district

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Canterbury St Mildred with St Mary de Castro parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = findmypast - (£)[1][2][3]
Canterbury St Mildred with St Mary de Castro Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1559-1912 1559-1912 1559-1928 1559-1928 1558-1879 1558-1879

A description of deposited records at Canterbury Cathedral Archives is available at the Kent Family History Society website.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Family Search microfilm for Census Returns for the city are at Census returns for Canterbury, 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable).

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.