Canton Schaffhausen, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Canton Schaffhausen ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Switzerland Wiki Topics
Switzerlandflag.gif
Beginning Research
Record Types
Switzerland Background
Local Research Resources
Canton Schaffhausen


Getting Started[edit | edit source]

If you are new to Swiss research, you should watch this introductory course. Then study the articles on church records and civil registration, as almost all of your research will be in those two record groups.

Ask the
Community

History[edit | edit source]

The city allied with six of the Swiss confederates in 1454 and allied with a further two Uri and Unterwalden in 1479. Schaffhausen became a full member of the Old Swiss Confederation in 1501.
The cantonal constitution was written in 1876 and revised in 1895. Schaffhausen is a German speaking canton
Schaffhausen (Wikipedia)

Parishes or Municipalities in Schaffhausen[edit | edit source]

Schaffhausen SW.JPG

Emigration Records[edit | edit source]

These records have a restriction for use only at a Family History Center near you.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Civil registration began in Canton Schaffhausen in 1849. To understand the records available, read the Wiki article, Switzerland Civil Registration.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

All parish records outside of the city of Schaffhausen are available online at the Schaffhausen Archive. They are organized by parish name. Click on the time period to access the books. Any page containing any information after 1876 is not available due to privacy laws. For copies of redacted pages, contact the Schaffhausen Archive.

FamilySearch has digitized the parish records for the city of Schaffhausen. Available here, they are organized by record type and date.

For information on the coverage and content of church records, read Switzerland Church Records.

FamilySearch Microfilmed/Digitized Records[edit | edit source]

All microfilmed parish records have been digitized. These records may have a restriction for use only at a Family History Center near you.

Instructions:

  1. Click on Switzerland, Schaffhausen FamilySearch Catalog.
  2. Open the list "Places within Switzerland, Schaffhausen". Select your town.
  3. A list of record categories will open up. Click on "Church records".
  4. A list of available records will appear. Click on the record title you are interested in searching.
  5. Scroll down to the list of microfilm numbers. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. FHL icons.png. The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.

Reading the Records[edit | edit source]

Search Strategy[edit | edit source]

This search strategy will help you determine what to write for. Limit tour requests to just one of these steps at a time. Once you have established that the parish is cooperative and perhaps more willing to do more extensive research (for a fee), you might be able to ask them for more at a time.

  • Search for the relative or ancestor you selected.
  • When you find his birth record, search for the births of his brothers and sisters.
  • Next, search for the marriage of his parents. The marriage record will have information that will often help you find the birth records of the parents.
  • You can estimate the ages of the parents and determine a birth year to search for their birth records.
  • Search the death registers for all known family members.
  • Repeat this process for both the father and the mother, starting with their birth records, then their siblings' births, then their parents' marriages, and so on.
  • If earlier generations (parents, grandparents, etc.) do not appear in the records, search neighboring parishes.

Research Tools[edit | edit source]