To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Cape Girardeau County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Cape Girardeau County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Jackson
Organized: October 1, 1812
Parent County(s): Original county[1]
Neighboring Counties
Alexander (IL)  • Bollinger  • Perry  • Scott  • Stoddard  • Union (IL)
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriCapeGirardeauCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Missouri Cape Girardeau County Map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Ensign Sieur Jean Baptiste de Girardot (also spelled Girardeau or Girardat) and a rock. The County is located in the southeastern area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Cape Girardeau County Courthouse
1 Barton Square
Jackson, MO 63755
Phone: 573-243-3547
Cape Girardeau County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1893 and land records 1821-1859.
County Recorder has marriage records.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and court records.
Probate Judge has probate records.[3]

Cape Girardeau County, Missouri Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1883 1805 1883 1815 1821 1805 1830
Statewide registration started in 1910 for births and deaths. General compliance for births by 1927 and deaths by 1911.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1870 Courthouse was destroyed by fire July 18, 1870.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1812 Cape Girardeau County was created 1 October 1812 as an original county.
  • County seat: Jackson[5]

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places in Cape Girardeau County, MO, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.
The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all 114 Missouri Counties.
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Cape Girardeau County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Cape Girardeau County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Evangelical
Emmanuel Evangelical Church, Jackson

  • 1884-1909 Emmanuel Evangelical Church, Jackson, Baptism Index 1884-1909. Batch C726701 at FamilySearch.

St. James Evangelical Church, Tilsit

  • 1892-1973 St. James Evangelical Church, Tilsit, Baptism Index 1892-1973. Batch C726711 at FamilySearch.

Salem Evangelical Church

  • 1874-1898 Salem Evangelical Church Baptism Index 1874-1898. Batch C726731 at FamilySearch.
  • 1874-1895 Salem Evangelical Church Marriage Index 1874-1895. Batch M726731 at FamilySearch.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Cape Girardeau County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • History of southeast Missouri. Embracing an historical account of the counties of Ste. Genevieve, St. Francois, Perry, Cape Girardeau, Bollinger, Madison, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Dunklin, Scott, Mississippi, Stoddard, Butler, Wayne and Iron. Chicago, The Goodspeed publishing co., 1888. Available online at MissouriDigitalHeritage

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Perry CountyBollinger CountyStoddard CountyScott CountyAlexander CountyUnion CountyJackson CountyMO CAPE GIRARDEAU.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Regiments
Service men in Cape Girardeau County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Cape Girardeau County, Missouri:

-2nd Regiment, Illinois Light Artillery, Battery F.
- 12th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company C
- 12th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 30th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company B
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company D
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company F
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company G
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company K
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company K
- 12th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company K
- 56th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 56th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 56th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 56th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 56th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 56th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 56th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company K
- 8th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 8th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 8th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 8th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 8th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- Engineer Regiment of the West, Missouri Volunteers (Union), Company G


Civil War Battle
The following Civil War Battle was fought in Cape Girardeau County

Map showing Civil War battles in Missouri

World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cape Girardeau County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Riverside Regional Library
    Main Library:
    1997 E. Jackson Blvd.
    P.O. Box 389
    Jackson, MO 63755
    Phone: 573-243-8141
    Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Cape Girardeau County Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 389
    204 S Union Ave
    Jackson, MO 63755
    Phone: 573-243-8141
    Website
  • Cape Girardeau County Historical Society
    P.O. Box 251
    Jackson, MO 63755

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • Girardeau MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Cape Girardeau County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cape_Girardeau_County,_Missouri, accessed 18 Sept 2018.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cape Girardeau County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Cape Girardeau County, Missouri," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, Cape Girardeau County Missouri, accessed 10 Sept 2019.
  7. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August 2012)]
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.