To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Capel, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Capel, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Capel, Kent
Capel St Thomas A Becket Kent.jpg
Capel St Thomas A Becket Kent
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Washlingstone
County Kent
Poor Law Union Tonbridge
Registration District Tunbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1663; For more records see Tudeley
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - None
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

CAPEL (St. Thomas à Becket), a parish, in the union, and partly in the lowey, of Tonbridge, but chiefly in the hundred of Washlingstone, lathe of Aylesford, W division of Kent, 3½ miles ESE from Tonbridge. The church was formerly a chapel of ease to Hadlow. [1]

Capel is a village and civil parish in the Tunbridge Wells district of Kent Capel Kent Wikipedia.

Capel St Thomas a Becket was formed as a chapelry of Tudeley, Kent The church ecclesiastical parish was created in 1868 and included the hamlet of Five Oak Green until the church of St Luke Five Oak Green was built in the 1890s.

The church was declared redundant and is now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust.Church of St Thomas a Becket Capel Wikipedia and Churches Conservation Trust.

The church of St Thomas a Becket has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Capel parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Capel Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1840-1864 (gaps)


FS BTs 1716-1904 1716-1904 1716-1904
FS PRs 1754-1825 (banns)

Prior to 1868 refer to the records for Tudeley, Kent which contain events from Capel; Capel records commence from 1663 but are mixed within the mother parish records since Capel was a chapelry of that parish.

Capel International Genealogical Index entries will appear as Tudeley.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Capel 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Capel on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 501-511. Date accessed: 8 July 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013. Described as 'Tudeley and Capel.'
  4. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.

FamilySearch