To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Carlisle, Cumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Carlisle, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Carlisle, Cumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Carlisle City
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Carlisle
Registration District Carlisle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1831
Bishop's Transcripts: 1831
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Carlisle
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Description[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Year Pop.
1801 9,555
1821 14,531
1841 21,964
1851 26,598
1871 31,074
Source: Censuses
Size: ? Sq. miles

CARLISLE, a city, municipal and parliamentary borough, and the county town of Cumberland, England, 299 m, N.N.W. of London, and 8 m. S. of the Scottish border. Pop. (1901) 45,480. It lies on the south bank of the river Eden, a little below the point where it debouches upon the Solway Plain, 8 m. above its mouth in the Solway Firth, at the junction of two tributaries from the south, the Caldew and the Petteril. The city grew up originally on and about the two slight eminences of the peninsula enclosed between these three streams. To the north of the Eden lies the suburb of Stanwix, connected with the city by a handsome bridge (1812-1815). The rivers are not navigable, and a canal opened in 1823, connecting the city with Port Carlisle on the Solway Firth, was unsuccessful, and was converted into a railway. Silloth, on the Irish Sea, is the nearest port of importance (21 m.). Carlisle, however, is one of the principal railway centres in Great Britain. …..
….Of the two eminences within the three rivers, the cathedral occupies one, the castle the other. It was moated and very strong; but has been so far altered that only the keep is of special interest. A tower in which Mary, queen of Scots, was imprisoned was taken down in 1835. The castle serves as barracks. Fragments of the old city walls are seen on the western side over against the river Caldew. At Carlisle are the county gaol and the Cumberland infirmary, in connexion with which there is a seaside convalescent institution at Silloth. Other notable public buildings are the city hall, the court-houses, museum and art gallery. The grammar school, of very early foundation, received endowment from Henry VIII. Industries include the manufacture of cotton and woollen goods, and there are iron foundries, breweries, tanneries and large railway works. There is also a considerable agricultural trade. The parliamentary borough returns one member. The municipal borough is under a mayor, 10 aldermen and 30 councillors. Area, 2025 acres. The Encyclopædia britannica: a dictionary of arts, sciences, ...:(1911) Volume 5 - Page 342 (free google ebook)

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Carlisle

Parish History[edit | edit source]

By 1848, "Carlisle comprised the two parishes of St. Mary and St. Cuthbert, which respectively contain, including parts without the city, 13,576 and 10,965 inhabitants. The living of St. Mary's is a perpetual curacy; net income, £90; patrons, the Dean and Chapter; appropriators, the Bishop, and the Dean and Chapter. The church is part of the nave of the cathedral. There are two district churches, namely, Trinity, in the parish of St. Mary, and Christ Church, in that of St. Cuthbert (as of 1848). The ancient parish boundary also included the smaller townships of Upperby and Wreay, each with their own district chapel.

There were meeting-houses for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, and Presbyterians; and a Roman Catholic chapel." [1]

Church of England Parishes (and Chapelries)[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

If you live in Cumberland then you will have access to a variety of resources; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Carlisle and Cumberland in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Cemetery - Churchyards[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Carlisle is in the district of Carlisle. To search an index of Carlisle district records go to FreeBMD. The England Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Carlisle parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Carlisle Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-1939
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

There were meeting-houses for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, and Presbyterians; and a Roman Catholic chapel.

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Carlisle, but the exact parish has not been identified:

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Hanson, Marjorie.  Does Hannah Ring a Bell.  History, photos and family of John Bainbridge and Ann Hodgson, with the following surnames:  Stevens, Burfort, Bell, Mellish, Greene, Livermore, Burford.  Family moved around Gateshead, Morland, Carlisle, Newcastle, with a branch emigrating to Australia, Ballarat, in 1852.  Article in Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal. vol.35,no2, pages 43-46. Family History Library Ref. 942.8 B2jo v.35, no2. (summer 2010)

History[edit | edit source]

Historical & descriptive guide to Carlisle and district by Albert Barnes Moss - 1881 - 290 pages - Free Google eBook

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Carlisle was the Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory); however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Carlisle District.  Refer to the Cumberland Probate Records article for further details.

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

The Carlisle Journalis available online from 1833 to 1866. Expect more years to be added to this collection. The British Newspaper Archive provides images and transcripts of the Newspaper. 

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Carlisle on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 511-520. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 June 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.

FamilySearch